We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best Pizzas Out There”
Review of Number Twelve - CLOSED

Number Twelve
Price range: US$7 - US$69
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Welcome to Number Twelve, an exquisite artisan purveyor in the beautiful fishing village of Porthleven. We know everything there is to know about the local area, the local pubs and restaurants are our strong point. With a vast knowledge of cheese and charcuterie to wine and champagne, we can advise you on the best quality seasonal produce to buy at the optimum time.
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Nothing special at the Corner Deli, could probably get better from a supermarket freezer. Nice little shop though and good service too.

Phoned the previous week, around 6.30pm and was told they had run out of pizzas, so we rang early the following week and was in luck, but the food disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bigwaverider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

We ordered 2 takeaway pizza’s during our weeks holiday in porthleven and were left most disappointed. The first night we ordered pizzas and asked for them to be cooked extra crispy, when we arrived to collect them they were already boxed up and keeping warm (we were 5 mins early!) both pizzas were very ‘doughy’ and not at all crispy. We decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and ordered another pizza toward the end of the week, again we asked for extra crispy, disappointingly the pizzas were again very ‘doughy’ I was also rather alarmed when I went to collect the pizza the girl serving was eating a bag of chips whilst boxing up pizzas and handling money and really not friendly at all. The pizzas we had from there last year and they were delicious and we recently found out that the shop has changed hands which explains a lot. They really need to improve the pizzas and be more friendly if they want to attract custom.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Pyra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Really good barista made coffee. Best place for coffee in the area and very reasonably priced too. Good selection of artisan products, will be back to do some Christmas shopping.

Thank Isabel932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I did not want to write a poor review on here as i really like the corner deli for its lovely food but im not happy!! 4 of us travel to the deli out of our way from penzance every week to have lunch and on too many occasions now we have all felt uncomfortable and almost a nuisance to the staff serving us for being there! We are actually put off going in now because of the poor service we receive which is just not on. I myself have working in busy hotels/restaurants from the age of 16, and feel the attitude of your staff is so bad we are actually really put off coming back in again..its very sad as we love the deli but im not spending my hard earned money to sit somewhere and feel uncomfortable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank patsystone1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

At the end of a fantastic week, we decided to stay in and order pizza from the corner deli. We had been in the previous evening to collect a menu and discussed with guys we would be definitely ordering the following night. Rang in at just after 6pm and was told it was too late to order for that evening as they were too busy. Rather annoying when the day before they could have warned us of problems like this on busy nights. Very poor.

    • Service
2  Thank Charles Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12deli, Manager at Number Twelve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

We are very sorry to hear that you were not able to place an order for a pizza, as it was half term, we were not sure as to how busy we were going to be. Admittedly our staff should have explained to you that it can get very busy very quickly so it can be difficult to place an order. Most of our customers are advised to prebook during busy periods to guarantee a pizza. We apologise again for any inconvenience and we recommend in the future pre booking, we hope next time you are able to get the specific time slot you would like. The corner deli team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number Twelve also viewed

Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing