We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blooming good chips”
Review of The Top Chippy

The Top Chippy
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Top Chippy is a family business owned & run by Norman/Vicky and their son Aaron Green who are all local to the area. Being from Cornwall we try and use local produce as much as we possibly can. we try our best to save the planet by using only sustainable vegetable oil sourced from local companies we have got a number of vegetarian dishes on the menu or on the specials board in the shop we even cater for the smaller appetite Give us a try !! REMEMBER WE DON'T FRY FAST FOOD WE FRY GOOD QUALITY FOOD AS FAST AS WE CAN !!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blooming good chips”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Local chippy with very friendly staff, good fish and chips and a wonderful village location to enjoy them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fourcrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    44
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing again!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The fish and chips from the top chippy never disappoint. The fish is fresh and tasty with a light crisp batter, the chips are just gorgeous. I would recommend the hake or the local pollock ... Very tasty, and great service from a welcoming team ... See you again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SB00th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAIGNTON, DEVON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips in Porthleven”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I guess everyone's tastes are different, last time we tried the other fish and chip shop - Roland's (supposed to of won awards) and quite frankly not impressed, chips were what I would call kebab shop chips ( not proper hand cut chips which you expect from a traditional fish and chip shop), fish was supposed to of been cod, but didn't taste like cod (living in Devon and holidaying in Cornwall a lot I know what fresh cod tastes like).

This time after recalling an article some time ago in the local paper thought we would give the top chippy a try, friendly service (people from Stoke are always friendly). We had cod and chips, came in a cardboard container, we drove back to our caravan and often fish and chips don't travel well, these did, stayed piping hot, fish was crispy and proper hand cut chips. The cod was definitely cod, very tasty. Very happy with the quality and taste of the food and will definitely be back when we are in west Cornwall again.

Helpful?
2 Thank 0ANGELA0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Fresh”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Really fresh and tasty. The battered the fish and sausage once ordered and chips were fresh, salty and delicious. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank T Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Favourite fish and chip shop in England”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Fish and Chips are a treat in our view and when you live inland you never get the same quality as you do at a good coastal Fish and Chip shop.

We've occasionally had fish and chips from the Top Chippy in the past- I think they had a cafe upstairs in the summer- but the last couple of years fish and chips from here have been our Saturday night meal for our January long weekends.

The fish and chips are so good- and the shop is always incredibly busy- the staff however know what they're doing as they never seem to lose track of whats going on.

What I like is that you don't just get Cod and Haddock, they have moved onto including the likes of Ling, Hake, Pollack and Whiting on their menu, depending upon what their supplier has caught. Now I actually prefer these to Cod and Haddock and they do cook them well.

Great fish and chip shop and we do look for good ones when we visit the coast. This is the best we've been to

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Top Chippy also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Top Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing