We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Joys of Cornwall”

The Square At Porthleven
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Joys of Cornwall”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The joys of Cornwall appeared as a shellfish and seafood Provençal stew - a fish stew. We popped in for lunch on a gorgeous sunny Tuesday 13th May after a walk along the coast to the Penrose estate.

The fish stew - and a lemon sole for my other half - were terrific, as were the desserts and the coffee.

A lovely clean restaurant, very kind and friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make sure we enjoyed the occasion - for that's what it was - not just a meal. The whole experience was terrific.
Many thanks indeed ladies - I will be back in September for sure!!

Finding somewhere for lunch has been difficult at times - PLEASE keep doing lunches!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    162
    36
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Good food in nice restaurant. Lovely view over the harbour. The card is small but well balanced. The espresso is also great: hot and strong.

Helpful?
Thank kassandrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dinner in the sunset”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Since we had my Cocker spaniel with us we opted for the terrace overlooking the harbour on this hot day in May.The food was fair,the view was good,but the experience was cold since there were no outside heaters .. a must for outdoor dining in England . If we had gone to the excellent Sea Drift up the road we may have missed the view but great food in a cosy setting with the dog tucked under the table , would have compensated .
Why is there this random decision for a dog "to be or not to be"?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hataholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food in beautiful village”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great food - excellent fish and chips. Small range of vegetarian food.
Seating outside with views of harbour.
Only minor point was waitress rushing around a lot - may need more staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallye519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Decided to try this as we often pop to Porthleven & we had a friend visiting. What a lovely place. Nice decor & atmosphere & really friendly efficient staff. We visited at lunch time & the menu, whilst small, has plenty of choice. The three of us, between us ate:Fish & chips; Blue cheese & roast chicory tart; Pastrami sandwich & a side order of chips. All of it freshly prepared, hot (where applicable) & really tasty. There were some tempting puss on offer but we couldn't manage one. Reasonably priced. Definitely worth a visit & we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patteson-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square At Porthleven also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Square At Porthleven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing