We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”

The Square At Porthleven
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Always lovely food. Last night I had potted crab, hake served on risotto and chocolate pot. Each dish was presented beautifully and had a depth of flavour to make the mouth water. There were 11 of us, we all had different things and everyone was impressed by their meal. Warm, friendly service by accommodating waitresses. Lovely wine. Not cheap but great value for money as the food is outstanding, and there is a set menu available which is fantastic and reasonably priced. Very impressed when we were allowed to pay individually.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    165
    36
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good Quality”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A return visit for us. Very welcoming. A bit of a wait for meals to arrive but worth it. Service very good. Decor excellent. A really enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfie213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Joys of Cornwall”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The joys of Cornwall appeared as a shellfish and seafood Provençal stew - a fish stew. We popped in for lunch on a gorgeous sunny Tuesday 13th May after a walk along the coast to the Penrose estate.

The fish stew - and a lemon sole for my other half - were terrific, as were the desserts and the coffee.

A lovely clean restaurant, very kind and friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make sure we enjoyed the occasion - for that's what it was - not just a meal. The whole experience was terrific.
Many thanks indeed ladies - I will be back in September for sure!!

Finding somewhere for lunch has been difficult at times - PLEASE keep doing lunches!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Good food in nice restaurant. Lovely view over the harbour. The card is small but well balanced. The espresso is also great: hot and strong.

Helpful?
Thank kassandrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dinner in the sunset”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Since we had my Cocker spaniel with us we opted for the terrace overlooking the harbour on this hot day in May.The food was fair,the view was good,but the experience was cold since there were no outside heaters .. a must for outdoor dining in England . If we had gone to the excellent Sea Drift up the road we may have missed the view but great food in a cosy setting with the dog tucked under the table , would have compensated .
Why is there this random decision for a dog "to be or not to be"?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hataholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square At Porthleven also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Square At Porthleven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing