We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY CREAM TEA”
Review of Horse and Jockey Nosebag Cafe - CLOSED

Horse and Jockey Nosebag Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVELY CREAM TEA”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visiting family in Helston and couldn't go home without a cream tea! Lovely warm scones, beautiful fruity jam and fantastic clotted cream, does it get any better? Friendly staff and quick service. Will keep this place in mind for future visits and next time try the pasties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great cafe lovely home cooked food, friendly staff, if you like teacakes order one it will be the biggest tea cake you have ever seen.
A must if you are visiting Porthleven.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cream tea yum”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The cream tea at this cafe was delicious. The staff are friendly and the service is fast. We ordered two cream teas and a big pot of tea for two. After sitting in the window seat and writing some postcards and watching the world walk by we decided to buy some pasties to take away for dinner (if we could ever eat again-oink). However, they were sold out!! Without even asking the young waitress was on the phone to their sister store down the hill and went and fetched us two pasties. Just lovely service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best Pasties ever”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

When we go to Cornwall every year to visit relatives one of our first trips is to the Horse and Jockey bakers to have the large skirt pasty,I would have one every day if I lived there and be the size of a house ,oh yeah

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank toptrougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cream tea”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We called in to sample the cream tea after checking out the menu in the window the day before. The place was quiet but very enjoyable to sit in the window watching the world go by. We ordered a cream tea for two and the lady was very accommodating in letting us make the pot of tea a large one for a little extra. We got two delicious scones (had choice of plain or fruit), generous bowls of jam and clotted cream and the large pot of tea. The lady also brought an additional jug of hot water to top up the teapot which ensured we had enough tea to sink a ship. Perfect! :)
We stacked our scones to the hilt and made for a delicious treat! With our additional tea, the bill was still only £5.40 for the lot. Brilliant!
A must visit if you're in Porthleven

Helpful?
1 Thank Chaferross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Jockey Nosebag Cafe also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing