We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hideaway

The Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in today and had a bacon and sausage bap with a free drink!!! For two quid you can't beat it, and three people that were in were very friendly and knew exactly how to welcome a customer, I will be back for sure! Would love if opened around evening times

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    18
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
penzance
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Have been here about 4 times now and each time it is really, really good. Nothing pretentious, just a straightforward cafe with an ordinary, but spotlessly clean, decor. BUT, you will get a warm and personal welcome, freshly cooked food and the best value for miles around. The quality isn't compromised either, it is good, very good even. Try it and I bet you'll go back again. This is the sort of place, offering the sort of food, at prices we can afford, that we should all support. Thank you to all of you who work here, you are doing a great job.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfasts at great prices! Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Everytime we go in there we are welcomed with a smile. Great simple food when you need it the most. Can't beat a bacon sandwich and a cup of tea for £1.75!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We didn't actually sit inside but we did outside. We mainly used The Hideaway for grabbing a breakfast bap, coffee or shake. A bacon roll with free cup of tea was £1.75 and a bacon and egg was £2. Such amazing value- its not even worth getting the pan out to do it yourself.
The mochachino was as good as nauti but ice and the Brew House but it was larger and cheaper. I had always used nauti but ice on our prevous holidays but this year it was The Hideaway every day. I hope it sticks around!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loucoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideaway also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing