We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hideaway

The Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I needed to kill an hour or so whilst waiting for my granddaughter who had an appointment in Porthleven so popped in here, the menu was absolutely great and so reasonable, but all I wanted was toast and marmalade and coffee which was no trouble to the two people there (the owner and his wife) the bread was so tasty not like supermarket rubbish and proper marmalade in a pot and heaps of it, not like the plastic tub things you get in other places. Cost was only £2 and such a cosy place and excellent service.

Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    18
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty brekkie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Simple yet delicious menu, something for all of the family, great value for money without compromise

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We went to the hideaway almost everyday on our holiday and everything we ordered was very good quality and excellent value. The milkshakes are the best we have had anywhere. The customer service can not be faulted.

If its a breakfast, snack or light lunch The Hideaway is the place to be.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loucoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in today and had a bacon and sausage bap with a free drink!!! For two quid you can't beat it, and three people that were in were very friendly and knew exactly how to welcome a customer, I will be back for sure! Would love if opened around evening times

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzance
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Have been here about 4 times now and each time it is really, really good. Nothing pretentious, just a straightforward cafe with an ordinary, but spotlessly clean, decor. BUT, you will get a warm and personal welcome, freshly cooked food and the best value for miles around. The quality isn't compromised either, it is good, very good even. Try it and I bet you'll go back again. This is the sort of place, offering the sort of food, at prices we can afford, that we should all support. Thank you to all of you who work here, you are doing a great job.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideaway also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing