We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Cornish Welcome”
Review of An Mordros Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Mordros Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Cornish Welcome”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked the An Mordros Hotel only having ever self-catered in Porthleven - I've been coming here since I was tiny, it was my other half's first trip to Cornwall. We weren't disappointed. Fantastic setting, parking right outside the hotel (going out of season has many upsides!) and a really warm welcome when we got into the hotel (early, but room was ready).

Somehow the shower broke on our first day, but we were immediately given the key to a spare room to use the shower there, which worked out fine. We even came back to the room one afternoon to a thank you card and choccies to thank us for being understanding. Little touches like that make such a difference!

Rooms were spotless and warm - with really responsive heaters. Decor was warm and homely. Breakfast was fantastic! We went to a spa hotel after this one, and the breakfast at An Mordros was better ;-) The jams and marmalades are made at the hotel - we bought some to bring home with us.

It would be worth coming here for the view alone, so the rest is an awesome bonus! Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for one of the harbour view rooms - a lovely bay window with seating and a coffee tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDLeatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to wright this lovely review. We are so glade your stay with us. Kind regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    34
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

this small hotel ,high on a hill is worth every penny. we were greeted on arrival by leave luggage it will be in your room.imagine at any holiday inn having that said to you.nice bedroom en suite comfortable bed ,plenty of places to store clothing etc. breakfast served full and i mean full or continental.No i did not forget view but how can someone describe a view which must be seen no matter what the weather is.THE JEWEL IN THIS HOTEL ARE THE OWNERS SANDY AND SOON TO BE HUBBY RUSSEL.then 3minutes walk you are in the Alantic Pub where if you have been before they will remember you good food and good cornish beer

Room Tip: front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4179257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to see you both again, nice to catch up. Hopefully see you both real soon. Best wishes Mr and Mrs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The An Modros Hotel is more of a B&B so if you are expecting a hotel you will be disappointed. That said, however, it is a comfortable B&B with good service in a great location with amazing views over the harbour.
Although the decor is a little tired I would not have any hesitation in recommending An Modros for a short-break in Porthleven.
It is very comfortable and clean and benefits from absolutely stunning views over Porthleven harbour. It is also very centrally located with the harbour just a short few minute walk away.
Porthleven is a beautiful village and well worth a visit if you are in Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Best wishes Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Thanks for a great experiance in your wonderful village. Great accommodation, fantastic views, excellent breakfast and above all incredible service. Being from Australia, this was a package we were unaccustomed to.
Best wishes for the big day.
Nick & Lori

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickandLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Niki and Lori thank you for your lovely review and our Big day was amazing even the sun shone. Best wishes Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We visited this lovely little hotel on our honeymoon tour of Cornwall , the room was clean , comfortable and with what is probably the best view of porthleven you could ask for , the patrons were very friendly with a lot of consideration given to guests comfort , all I can say is thank you for making our stay so nice

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dentmender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are glad you noticed our little touches and enjoyed some of your honeymoon with us. We wish you all the best for the future . Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived without a booking and were much relieved when they had a vacancy. Our room was on the top floor (only one floor) and although not very large was very cute and nice and sunny on a cold and blustery afternoon. It had a bay window with a table and 2 chairs where one could sit and enjoy the view while having a cup of tea. It had the most incredible views of the little port which will stay with us forever. The owner was very friendly and very helpful on where to go and what to do. As they are only B & B there was a pub/restaurant in the same street which served delicious and reasonalbly priced meals. Breakfast at the Hotel as also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for room Nr 1 or 2 on the top floor overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We came down for a few days and will be back. We usually stay in Helston, but fancied something a little different this year and weren't disappointed. The room was lovely, the breakfast substantial and the whole ambiance relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
5.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
9.7 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
10.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Mordros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Mordros Hotel

Property: An Mordros Hotel
Address: Peverall Terrace | Porthleven, Porthleven, Helston TR1 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With outstanding views over Porthleven harbour the An Mordros is a family run hotel. Facilities include a cozy bar lounge and sea facing patio area. Elegantly furnished, all bedrooms include TV, hair driers, hospitality trays. All rooms are en-suite and some have incredible sea and harbour views. Free Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Mordros Porthleven
An Mordros Hotel Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing