We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted to return here!”
Review of An Mordros Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Mordros Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
West Wales
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delighted to return here!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After staying here last summer we returned like we hopefully knew we would. This hotel is ideally situated to take in all Porthleven has to offer.
We had a harbour view room again and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery.
The breakfasts are superb and varied and very filling. Expertly cooked and very tasty.
The hosts Sandy and Russell are very hard working and friendly.
Porthleven is such a lovely place to visit and stay and this hotel adds to the experience.
Our room was spotlessly clean and smelt lovely.

We would without hesitation recommend this hotel and will once again return here.

Room Tip: Book well in advance for the harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were delighted to welcome you back this year it was nice to see you both again. Maybe we will see you again soon. Take care Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    36
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
106
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having stayed in Porthleven a couple of times now, we wanted to spend a few days over the Easter weekend, so again searched Trip advisor and booked a 4 night stay here. Loved the location high up over looking the harbour, when the sun went down in the harbour, it was still sunny on the terrace for nearly an hour longer. We thought parking may be a problem, but always found a spot near enough to the B&B. The owners are a nice couple, very approachable and hands on. The room we thought was good value for money and with the views from the bay window, you could see right towards the harbour and left out to sea, perfect. The decoration is very much to the owners taste, personally I would have likes colours to reflect the setting of the hotel and the saniflow noise was a little off putting as you knew when the guests were using their facilities in the room next door. But as I said all things considered, it was very clean, comfortable, breakfasts were good so well worth the money. We would stay again and it would have to be in one of the front facing rooms.

Room Tip: Have to be front facing for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for finding the time to write a review. Greatly appreciated Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

For 6 nights we based our stay in Cornwall at An Mordros and were not disappointed. Excellent b&b in a great location for exploring Porthleven and south-western Cornwall. And amazing value! Sandy and Russell were brilliant hosts - friendly, very helpful, really useful local knowledge... Our room was very comfortable and clean and lacked nothing (except perhaps a bit more space in the bathroom, but that just encouraged us to get out and see a bit more of Cornwall). Certainly on our list of places to which we'd return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacOz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back one day in the near future. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at this excellent b&b for 3 nights and we were fortunate enough to have a room with a harbour/sea view which was spectacular. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated and as a plus the room was serviced daily with fresh towels. The breakfast was superb with a good selection of cereals, fruit, homemade preserves (delicious) etc and the cooked breakfast was especially tasty.
The hotel is in an excellent location with parking out the front and just a few minutes walk to the harbour.
If in the area we would definately stay here again and would highly recommend this great value hotel.

Room Tip: Definately ask for harbour/seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us . Hopefully we will see you in the near future. Many thanks Sandy and Russell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My son and I stayed here after our first day of walking 120 miles + of the Coastal path. Out of the 7 days this was the only actual hotel we stayed in -the others being Inns/pubs, As walkers with dirty boots we were made to feel welcome. Our twin room was comfortable; we had no view but the view of the harbour from the front of the hotel was spectacular. Breakfast was a choice of cereals and fruit followed by a hearty Cornish cooked breakfast which set us up for the next leg of our walk to Cadgwith Cove.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your walking holiday. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heol-y-Cyw
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary, the weather was superb, the setting is beautiful with brilliant sea and harbour views from room 2. Never been to Porthleven before and it is a idyllic Cornish fishing. The breakfast was beautifully presented and very well cooked, an excellent start to the day, our hosts event Liffey an anniversary card and hand made chocolates in our room, a really nice and thoughtful touch. Would have loved to stay longer and will definitely be back, well done!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are honoured that you chose us for your 10th Wedding Anniversary and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here with a colleague for two nights, both had side view rooms, the service was great as were the recommendations of where to eat. breakfast was good though an earlier start would have been prefered,parking may be a problem in busier times

Room Tip: Book early and pay for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
A big thank you from Russell and I for finding the time to post such a nice review. We hope we will be able to welcome you and your colleague back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
5.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
87 reviews
5.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
6.5 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
10.0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Mordros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Mordros Hotel

Property: An Mordros Hotel
Address: Peverell Terrace | Porthleven, Porthleven, Helston TR1 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthleven
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With outstanding views over Porthleven harbour the An Mordros is a family run hotel. Facilities include a cozy bar lounge and sea facing patio area. Elegantly furnished, all bedrooms include TV, hair driers, hospitality trays. All rooms are en-suite and some have incredible sea and harbour views. Free Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Mordros Porthleven
An Mordros Hotel Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing