We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Meal Only”
Review of Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Bar Meal Only”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited Portleven on a lovely sunny day. Sat in the beer garden next to the river. Great location. We all had the Cornish pasties which were delicious. Great setting, great weather and a great pasty! And luckily no seagulls tried to nick it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morvenscaraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    170
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
116
208
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The day we visited it was too cold to sit out unfortunately so we went into the bar. I think the bar doesn't know if it's a bar or an arcade. Flashing machines and Flat screen TVs and speakers aplenty. We couldn't escape the rugby. Wherever we sat it was in your face and pounding the ears. Not everyone is into sport, especially if they want a drink and conversation. Surely part of the bar could be designated TV free. Also the table was very dirty. Shame because the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great pub and location. The rooms were lovely, the bathroom especially was really nice. Breakfast was tasty. We were warned well in advance about the music at the weekend in the bar, although actually there wasn't any the night we stayed but the temporary harbor defenses were made a really loud banging noise for most of the night which meant sleep was hard to come by. A real shame because everything else was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just had the best weekend ever at The Harbour Inn. It's the 3rd time we've stayed there with friends n we love it sooo much! The Harbour n views are stunning but it's the owners and their staff that really make the difference compared to other hotels we've been to. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They constantly kept themselves busy and kept the bar and restaurant spik and span. The room we had was spotless and a new bathroom had been put in which was huge. I wanted to take the bed home because it was so comfy!!! Breakfast was fantastic with a good choice and we ate there in the evening. There was a live band on the Saturday night called Duke Johnson and the Sorcerers who were amazingly good and we ad the best night ever(so much so that my old air guitar came out). Nick and Ruth made us feel so welcome and have a great rapport with everybody which is why we will keep going back.

Room Tip: We had room no 1 which had a huge bathroom and also a table and sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My third visit to this hotel and certainly lived up to expectations.My room ( no 1 ) had a newly re- furbished bathroom which was an excellent size.The food was excellent with a varied menu the seafood was to die for, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.The entertainment on Saturday night was great.Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room number one is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the harbour inn for a carvery on a busy Sunday. The staff were very friendly & helpful nothing was too much trouble. I had roast beef,I was given lots of beef, there was a wide selection of vegetables & it tasted amazing. Will be returning again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasharosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have not stayed here but have to comment on the fantastic Sunday Carvery. This was our 2nd visit and we found it to be excellent quality - one of the best around. Great choice of fresh vegetables, yorkshire puddings and choice of meats - veggie gravy option too. Perfect and great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KANDSC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
5.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
572 reviews
5.1 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
797 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
2.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
17.0 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Inn

Property: Harbour Inn
Address: Commercial Road, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Inn, Porthleven, is a lively pub situated on the harbour serving fantastic food all year round using fresh local produce. The decor is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. The en-suite hotel style bedrooms are cosy and inviting, blending comfort with character, some enjoy sea views over the harbour. Located, on the Lizard Peninsula (near Helston) with its beautiful beaches, historic harbour and quaint narrow streets of fishermen's homes is the ideal location from which to explore historic Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Porthleven
Harbour Inn Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing