We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant and enjoyable Sunday lunch being a Turkey or Beef carvery for 4 or in my case a Turkey AND Beef carvery. Lovely location took precaution of ringing through a table reservation for the 1.30pm sitting, well worth while as had a window seat looking out to the Harbour. Excellent food, lovely staff, thank you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Woolford40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Called in on Sunday intending to have a carvery or other meal. Went inside the pub at 1.30 pm and nearly all the tables were empty with reserve signs on them. This is ridiculous, think of all the custom they are losing and annoying people who are there ready to eat. Reservations are all well and good in a top restaurant but not a pub when its really busy. They don't need to reserve tables as they would get filled regardless.
In the end we had a sandwich outside which was so-so. The only redeeming thing to say is the staff who were serving were really friendly and polite despite being well rushed off their feet.
This is a cash cow for St Austell brewery as it is the only pub of a size that can serve food. They need to remember that there are a lot of new restaurants opening up and trade can not be assumed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had one night's stay in the Harbour Inn and wished we had booked more as the room was lovely, so big complete with a lounge room, hallway, bedroom and bathroom. Very clean. Greeted and shown our room by Mike who was very helpful. Comfy bed. however if you are seeking a quiet, early night on a Friday or a Saturday this is not the Inn for you as live music goes on till 11, and the people crowding outside and beneath the room windows do not clear out till at least 11.30. This is made clear on the website though so it is not a complaint, and the ear plugs by the bed are a nice touch! Good breakfast, very generous portions. Will definitely come back. Fabulous views from the Harbour walls in Porthleven.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very big, not sure if others are same size. Did not have a harbour view, that would be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelc1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This weekend was a surprise for my partners birthday.We have been down to Porthleven before as we are local to the area but only to enjoy a drink whilst passing through on our motorbike.
It has always got a good feel when we have visited. A lovely family feel ,staff are very approachable and friendly, always attentive giving good service to the public. The food is very tasty, presented to a high standard and very little waiting time for it. The room that we stayed in was very clean and fresh, New bathroom and Shower and accessories in bathroom with clean towels. They also provided teas, coffees, biscuits, TV , fan and hairdryer in the room.
Best of all was the Landlord and Landlady who made their presents known in the lounge bar, checking to see if there was adequate staff on duty and making sure that everything was to our satisfaction. On the Saturday morning the service was just as good by the new team of staff for that day.
They let us finish our weekend break with a lovely leisurely walk around the harbour before going home.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms looking over the Porthleven Harbour. Absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyLawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

just returned from a great week in cornwall staying in porthleven
we ate at the harbour inn most evenings and the six of us went through the inns menu between us
the food was very good , good portions ,good quality , well priced , and very tasty
good local ale
A well run inn most of the staff we met were young , very friendly , very helpful and very good at their jobs

Room Tip: did not stay at inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The breakfast is lovely, lots of it, staff are really nice. Room was spotless as was the bathroom. Comfy bed and beautiful clean white towels. View (if you get the right room) is superb. On the down side, not a fan of shower over bath - in fact the one in our room was in our opinion bordering on dangerous - the bath was very high, also the shower screen did not move so adjusting the temperature of the water is tricky. Don't plan an early night on a Saturday as the ear plugs provided are as much use as a chocolate fire guard. However the "so called" music does end promptly at 11 pm. As we have stayed before we knew what to expect - so went out, Have marked down on value - when you think about it anyone staying for a week would pay around the £700 mark at the end of the day - yes it is in a great location but its still a pub doing B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped here overnight when walking our latest section of the SWCP. Very good location, although our room over the bar at the front was a little noisy - that said, we did not end up having to use the ear plugs that were kindly provided!
The room was OK as was breakfast in the morning, although the bed could have been better as I did not get a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
17 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
497 reviews
16.3 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
669 reviews
0 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#11 of 25 in Fowey
19 reviews
12.1 mi away
Chain Locker
Chain Locker
#34 of 82 in Falmouth
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Inn

Address: Commercial Road, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Price Range: £69 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Inn, Porthleven, is a lively pub situated on the harbour serving fantastic food all year round using fresh local produce. The decor is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. The en-suite hotel style bedrooms are cosy and inviting, blending comfort with character, some enjoy sea views over the harbour. Located, on the Lizard Peninsula (near Helston) with its beautiful beaches, historic harbour and quaint narrow streets of fishermen's homes is the ideal location from which to explore historic Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Porthleven
Harbour Inn Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing