We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempting menu choices”
Review of Amelies

Amelies
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Porthleven
Price range: US$10 - US$58
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The freshest ingredients sourced from the best local suppliers. A relaxed, waterside atmosphere where you can sit back and relax. Service that's memorable for all the right reasons. At Amelies, Porthleven and sister company Gourmet Picnics we share the same ethos which runs through everything we do. Come and experience it for yourself. Please note in the winter season we do close on a Monday day and Tuesday day, re-opening Tuesday evening.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tempting menu choices”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited Amelies and were seated outside as we wanted to soak up the relaxed atmosphere of Porthleven.

Staff friendly and accommodating, great menu choice with many ingredients sourced locally. We did have one issue with our starter – whitebait which was drenched in salt.

We referred this to the waitress and the dish was taken away with an offer to replace it and an admission from the Chef that the dish had indeed been compromised. A full refund was given and a sincere apology.

Our mains however were very delicious – pulled pork burger, nicely presented and tasty. I opted for mussels, sourced from the Helston River – they were very good and plentiful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilFool1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    266
    149
    125
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Poor food and poor service. We went as a group of four friends and each of our meals were very bland. Very disappointing as we had high expectations of the place. The staff were very defensive and unwilling to help, including the manager - although after eventually coming to our table she did knock our bottle of wine off the bill. The couple next to us took so long to be served that they left, and the table opposite did not receive all the meals they ordered. Would not recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BryonyPlatt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food... let down by slow service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came to Amelie's at the end of July during our holiday. The food was really good and it didn't disappoint despite the fact I don't usually go for fish. Unfortunately the service was really slow. We are not quick to complain generally but we waited more than a reasonable time for our two courses, and to be honest felt we had been forgotten about. I mentioned this when I paid at the end of the evening and was just given an apology because they had some staffing issues. Could be fantastic if they sorted the staffing out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit to Porthleven”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first visit to Porthleven and our first visit to Amelies on the quay. Despite the fact that we had not booked and arrived well into the evening meals we were immediately greeted by a superb member of staff. When my wife and I asked if we could get a table she stated that she would find the owner and see what they could offer. Within minutes the owner had greeted us and introduced herself. We were then directed to a table for two and given menus etc. and asked if we would like to order drinks. We were told that as we had not booked the food may take up to 30 minutes and we were more than happy with that. Our drinks arrived and we were asked if we would like a starter while we waited. This we did and the starter arrived and the waitress took our meal order. The meal arrived less than 20 minutes after we had arrived despite the restaurant being packed. The food was well presented, delicious and made using a wide range of local produce.
Throughout our time at Amelies the staff were courteous, professional and attentive.
We will definitely go there again.
Thanks to all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daddio068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is my first ever review in Trip Advisor but felt obliged to comment.

Saturday was Day 1 of our holiday in Porthleven and as my partner's daughter is called Amelie, this lovely harbourside restaurant topped our list of places to visit.

Firstly, the positives. The atmosphere and food were first class and staff were particularly attentive to Amelie which isn't always easy with so many other things to contend with. So thank you for that.

On a slightly disappointing note, the standard of service was quite significantly below par, or should I say, waiting times..It is disappointing to sit for nearly an hour before your meal arrives. We were told we were a isolated table but it soon became clear that other customers around us were becoming increasingly frustrated. Some had to wait in excess of half an hour to order drinks.

The most frustrating aspect of this review is that my partner's parents had a almost identical experience back in March this year.

We were told there were issues with a chef being 'unavailable', however comments just 24 hours earlier seemed very similar to my own.

My feedback on leaving was objective and not a rant and it was refreshing that the supervisor wasn't at all defensive and recognised the transitional nature of this period.

This is not a derogatory comment for the sake of it; far from it. We really liked the place, the meal and the people. However, comments need to be acknowledged and acted on to move from a good to an excellent restaurant.

Would I go back? Absolutely, yes ... Firstly because most pieces of the jigsaw are in place and I'm sure the service issues will be resolved. Secondly, because many of the staff were quite young and seemed genuinely keen to get things right.

Hope this doesn't sound too patronising, not intended to be and please visit Amelie's..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amelies also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Amelies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing