We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Moorings B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorings B & B
Ranked #9 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the executive room for a Birthday treat. Room opens out onto a small conservatory which not only has views out to sea thanks to the inspirational glass "infinity" fence but also steps out directly into the garden. The views are to die for! You also have unrestricted use of the lounge and garden with various seating options and a wonderfully middle-eastern style pagoda.
Upon arrival we were made to feel at home and were treated to a pot of very welcome tea and biscuits out in the garden. Our hosts Mike and Marilyn were warm and very friendly people, and nothing was too much trouble. They were happy to make reservations at local eateries and even once headed after us when we had no reservation at the Castle Inn and it was fully booked to let us know and offer a lift to an alternative pub.
Breakfasts are excellent with the option to mix and match your choices (hubby highly recommends his own concoction of black pudding, smoked haddock and scrambled eggs!).
If you're eating out, we would personally recommend the Castle Inn (if you can get a reservation); Smugglers was ok but Castle far superior. Want to venture further, Frescos is a real treat in Teignmouth.
Intersting things to do include Devon Wildlife Centre (privately funded animal rescue centre) and Shaldon Wildlife Centre. Oh, and hop on the ferry over to Shaldon and enjoy a drink at The Ness or the Ferry Boat Inn.
We would definitely stay here again when in Teignmouth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGodwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This has to be the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Marilyn & Mick the owners make you feel so welcome and at home. Breakfast was absoloutly scrummy. Enjoyed a bottle of wine in the garden in the evening. We were at a wedding the next day and Marilyn accomodated us so well my friend arrived to do my hair we were given coffee not to mention mirrors chairs hairdryers set up in the conservatory looking out over the ocean. I recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a chilled break away you will certainly not beat it! The Mediterranean garden is out of this world with its very own parrot too! The rooms are very comfortable and you are provided with a fidga and glasses to take youre fave tipple along with you. Marilyn kindly made reservations at a local pub for us wich the food was also excellent. If you want a quiet romantic getaway this is def the place to go :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed at the Moorings for the last two nights of a week long trip to Devon and Cornwall for my husbands 50th birthday and it was the highlight of the week. The room was lovely, very clean with lots of extra little touches. The patio doors led to a small conservatory and the immaculate garden with breathtaking sea views. We were met by Marilyn who is a wonderful host, very laidback and with lots of ideas of where to go and where to eat. We ate the first night at the Smugglers which is 10 minutes walk away. We should have taken up Marilyns offer to book a table for us as when we arrived the restaurant was fully booked, but we managed to find a table in the bar. The quality of our food explained the restaurants popularity- apparently you have to book weeks in advance to get a table on a Sunday for the carvery!

The following day we went to Paignton Zoo-highly reccomended-after which we didn't fancy going out for dinner. Marilyns husband recommended a chinese restaurant and we had our meal delivered in. We had the table overlooking the garden laid for us, chopsticks and all, and it was lovely.

The breakfasts were probably the best I've had-strawberries and cream followed by full english on the first day and poached eggs and bacon the following day. My husband had smoked mackeral which he also thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was again very relaxed and the setting looking out over the sea couldn't have been nicer.

If we are ever staying in the area again we would definately stay at The Moorings and would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tewkesnjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Did not want to leave ... we had the best weekend. The Moorings is immaculate, spectacular sea view and the hospitality was top notch. We will go back but not sure when as they are fully booked up because of their excellent reputation. Some really thoughtful touches e.g best china tea cups, egyptian cotton bedding ... breakfast at a time convenient to us. Simply put this is a 5 star B&B ... cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAOD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We loved staying at The Moorings. Didn't book just happened to pass by. The room was very comfortable with everyting you needed. Back garden looks over the sea so amazing views. Would definately reccommend.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulberrySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemsLeicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We found The Moorings accommodation back in 2004.
Quiet, home from home.
The Owners make your stay very welcoming.
Breakfast is to you're liking, fresh and served within your times.
Helpfull with all requirements to make your stay at The Moorings special.
We stay twice a year.
Bring on the next visit. Our liitle place in Devon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemsLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Stayed in this cliff top 2 bedroomed b and b in july this year. The room was small, but spotless and well equiped with mini fridge, bottled water, kettle and tea and coffee etc. To the rear of the house was a beautiful cliff top garden with the most breathtaking views. Breakfast was cooked to your liking and was fresh, meat from the btucher, full english plus cereal, toast, strawberries and yogurt. The owners were very accomodating and booked a table for us at a lcoal pub.

Would recommend this to anyone wanting a nice seaside break, teignmouth is 'shabby chic' but lovely.

  • Liked — The great views from the residents conservatory
  • Disliked — Only one of the rooms has an ensuite, the other has a private bathroom across the hall
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosycheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
1.7 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
332 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Thornhill Hotel
Thornhill Hotel
#3 of 18 in Teignmouth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings B & B

Property: Moorings B & B
Address: Teignmouth Road, Teignmouth, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Moorings B & B Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing