We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but splendid”
Review of Cliffden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cliffden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired but splendid”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had the August bank holiday weekend there for 2 nights with my husband courtesy of my Avios points. The hotel is tired but it is still splendid and elegant. The gardens are more like an arboretum. Our room was huge with a double and two single beds, all very clean. Breakfast was okay, we went down at 9.50am on the second day (breakfast 8-10) and felt a little rushed.
The location is superb but is on a steep hill so bear in mind if have walking difficulties. Teignmouth has many pubs with live music on for the bank holiday which added to our experience. A great weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was104 a family room that had a big shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    59
    47
    27
    14
See reviews for
60
91
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed with my two children (12 & 16).
Good points were the pool (nice size), and the gardens.
Bad points were:
1) The cooked breakfast- the quality was poor, mushrooms were old, sausage was no prize winner and service slow (by reason of insufficient staff rather than any lack of attentiveness). We did not risk staying for dinner.
2) Limited parking at hotel and car spaces also tight.
3) Limited opening times for pool e.g. on one of our days pool not available to guests until 11.00 am.
I was also taken back somewhat by a "corkage" charge of over £3 when I asked to use a bottle opener late evening after returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Teignmouth hotels

Leicester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed for just one night and really enjoyed my visit. The hotel is less than ten minutes from the centre but has a good sized car park and the most beautiful landscaped grounds. While it is true the reception area is small, there is a magnificent galleried staircase and reception area, beautifully kept. My room was clean, large and attractive, certainly not tired. I was fascinated by the attention to detail in terms of looking after visually impaired guests, and I loved seeing the dogs around, so quiet and well trained. I will definitely stay here again - my first time in Teignmouth and it is a very charming seaside resort, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leicestermancunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My sight impaired sister booked in for a 4 night stay in August, together with a sighted companion. The Reception area is tiny, cramped and right in front of the main door entrance, with one staff booking in and out. Very busy with people bumping into each other - a disaster waiting to happen. The hotel is tired and in need of modernisation. A visit from Alex Polizzi would do them a power of good! Entertainment was promised but failed to materialise. On the positive side, the staff were friendly but in short supply and overstretched. Overall a poor experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseKTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We needed a hotel with a room for a disabled person. The room was lovely and the bathroom perfect, with grab rails. The staff were most helpful and cheerful and used to dealing with people with 'needs'. It was a coincidence that my blind friend and her husband joined us for dinner when I hadn't know in advance that the hotel is part of the Vision group, specifically adapted for the blind and partially sighted. I'm afraid that dinner wasn't as good as it could have been. My husband and I had fish which was fine but our friends had pork which was very tough. Breakfast though was excellent. There is a swimming pool which looked very good, and large gardens with a gate at the bottom leading out onto the Promenade.
We will stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a lift to the other floors but the disabled room is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opera-lover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We found that the hotel was really good - breakfast was excellent (plenty of choice, good quality and attentive service); the room was superb (clean and large, the powerful shower was a joy!), the staff are friendly and willing to help. We would go back again, and probably will. A bonus was interacting with blind and partially-sighted people and their wonderful doggies! The main road up above was very un-busy after the rush hour, so was not obtrusive at all. Surely only sad people miss wi-fi in their rooms! And so close to town (and we were there in Carnival Week)...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Hotel is actually a care home run by a Charity who do great work for visually impaired people. This means that there are loads of dogs around (of course) and many residents on short breaks who need real care and attention. We were not aware of this when we booked. The food is mediocre and the room we had, which was a good size, was also by the lift doors that banged whenever shutting. if you now this is the nature of the hotel, enjoy dogs, and are happy to accept a compromised hotel experience, then this is fine. It is in a great position and was clearly once a luxury hotel. Many years ago.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorsetEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.5 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffden Hotel

Property: Cliffden Hotel
Address: Cliffden Hotel 20 Dawlish Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffden Hotel was built as a private House in 1815 for Sir John Strachan on 35 acres of grounds adjacent to the Dawlish Road. The original gardens were built in the Regency style gardens, with smooth lawns, shrubberies and trelliswork and wall-plants against the lower storey of the house. In 1988, the then current owner Dr Mules retired, he put Cliffden House up for sale with the understanding that it would be used for "greater good". The House was purchased by Guide Dogs for the blind and converted to a hotel which offer accommodation to both blind, sighted and partially sighted guests. The hotel now sits in 7 acres of landscaped gardens, and a short walk through these private grounds brings you to the glorious seafront at Teignmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cliffden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffden Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing