We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality food at reasonable prices”

The Owl and the Pussycat
Ranked #9 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top quality food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This restaurant has been operating in Teignmouth for a long time producing top quality modern British food, now with very occasional Tunisian influences. It has a small but varied wine list. Attention to detail in the presentation of the food and the appearance of the restaurant itself is exemplary. Very good value for both formal and informal dining.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFrogPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    34
    15
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shepton mallet
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent service”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This restaurant looks very small from the outside, but it is like a tardis inside. A very warm welcome is always given by the owner who makes you feel a very valued customer. The tables are always laid up ready for use and the glasses and flatware is of an immaculate appearance.
The menu is a small one, which I prefer as everything is cooked to order, and always arrives with the whole table being served at once and not having to wait for one diners food to arrive.
The menu is very imaginative and all ingredients are of the highest quality. I would fully recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank covpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best steak I've ever eaten”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My supplier took me to this restaurant and I decided to follow his lead on the menu as he clearly knew his way around it. Everything that we ate was nothing short of excellent in terms of freshness, quality, taste and presentation..the beef was really something special and is to be tried without a doubt.This is the sort of place that I would happily take my wife to for a special meal, never mind a venue for a business meeting! Top marks, and I will be back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RugbyRaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant that looks little at first, but has more space in the back and garden”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A nice restaurant on the main shopping street, it looks little from the outside but has a room to the side and a back garden for the summer. I went with my family for lunch and we picked the set course menu, which we found was priced okay. The main menu is a bit more pricy but what we saw being served looked nice and the people on the next table cleared their plates, we had a soup which was homemade and very tasty and fresh mussel in a wine sauce very filling. For the main course we had fish and seafood spaghetti which was just cooked right , the house wine was nice and we were full so did not have a sweet but the menu had a good section. The service was good and the overall impression of the restaurant was good, would go back there again as it is well worth the money for what we had.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrighton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have eaten many meals here over the years and Adam's cooking just goes on improving.

The surrounding are pleasant and the hosts very welcoming.

Well worth a detour, Teignmouth is very fortunate to have a restaurant of this calibre.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PortlyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Owl and the Pussycat also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Owl and the Pussycat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing