We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time in Teignmouth...”

twentysix Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #21 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Brixham
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Lunch time in Teignmouth...”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant lunch at Bistro Twenty Six. Lovely freshly made and toasted sandwiches. A light and refreshing bottle of Pinot Grigio and Americano's to finish off. Friendly service and very reasonable pricing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    65
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands , UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This small Cafe Bistro gem is hidden away in Regent Street , the one way street from the central triangle.We have eaten here several times , both at lunchtime and evenings and never been disappointed with the food.
The menu is not extensive but well thought out and there is always an menu option for every taste , seafood , meat , vegetarian etc. The food is always beautifully presented and full of fresh and local ingredients , we particularly enjoy the seafood sharing platter , with usual variations and the lovely flavoured breads that accompany the dish , a lovely lunchtime treat with a glass of wine or a beer. The fresh fish of the day is also a very popular choice with visitors and the Plaice we enjoyed recently would be a credit to any Restaurant.
The desserts are a wonder to see , again a selection surely to tempt anyone , the Pistachio and Almond cake with Chocolate grenache icing one of our favourites.
There is also a comprehensive wine list for such a small and informal Bistro , a slight pity 'someone' had forgot to restock the wine cooler with our choice of Pinot Grigio , but the Chenin Blanc we upgraded to was a delight.
The staff work very hard to make sure everything is to your liking , we believe the theme meal nights are a great success and very popular and hopefully we can try one for ourselves soon , maybe the up coming Thai evening.
If you are in the area , please patronise the Bistro , you will be made most welcome and have a lovely experience with all food and drink reasonably priced , our meal , with two starters , two main meal Fish of the Day , one dessert to share , two coffees , and a bottle of Wine (£19.95) came in at a very reasonable £72.00 for freshly prepared , locally sourced food.
A couple of points to note , the evening menu is not very child friendly , but for some like us , that is not an issue and actually an advantage , and if you make an advance booking , there is sometimes a discount code displayed in the window for half price desserts and coffee on an evening to be quoted at the time of booking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggot35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I've used this cafe several times on visits, but let down this time by length of time taken to make what is in effect an only ok toasted sandwich, when I was the only customer. Not sure what was going on. Also, crisps from large packet to garnish my plate not only passé, but the girl dispensing them took a couple for herself from said packet, straight into mouth. I wasn't sharing with friends! Tiny weeny salad garnish. Good coffee. Think I'll only go in when they're busy in future, it'll be faster I'm sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank CriterionAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,444 reviews
602 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Great salads”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had late lunch here. Both had salads which were tasty and interesting. service was pleasant and friendly. Nice environment. Dosent look much from outside but well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visited this lovely bistro for breakfast it was so delicious we had to return to try further options, we were not disappointed, service food and coffee fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed twentysix Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to twentysix Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing