We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always popular but not always easy to see why”
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Always popular but not always easy to see why”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This beachside restaurant is always packed, but some of the food on offer is a bit touristy and disappointing, i.e. the gingerbread cookies were soggy and tasteless and the burgers obviously factory-made. But the atmosphere is cheerful and the staff always nice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Narguesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    176
    33
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always busy”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This place is always heaving! The food is well priced, so yummy and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

8 of us went with a pram and a child, the staff helped us find a table, brought over a highchair and brought us some more chairs.

I go regularly and will continue to go :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OllieAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best breakie in town”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We love this place for brunch and coffee! We only visited here last year for the first time, which is bad considering we live here. Their cooked breakfasts are huge and yummy. Lush Starbucks coffee as well. Their menu is huge so will cater for all and they have a superb selection of homemade cakes! Defo worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanandSerena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole,dorset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow what a find!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Searching for somewhere for a family to eat early Sunday evening and we stumbled over this fab beachfront cafe/restaurant. Varied menu with most mains between £8-£10 and kids meals for £4.95. Portion size really good everything tasted delicious. Very good friendly service too in a lovely spot just by the kids play park.... Oh and the toilets are really nice too - always a sign of quality

Helpful?
1 Thank VikkiSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super food amazing view”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Well priced food, we always go for the breakfast options, as a veggie I'm always impressed
Nice coffee, we've even had a cheeky beer
order at the bar, there may be a bit of a queue, mainly due to people queuing up and not knowing what they want (people decide before you go up!)
Food always arrives quickly
Clean toilets
You don't need a sea view seat as view of town nice too
Visited many, many times :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nix17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing