We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good nights sleep.”
Review of Lynton House

Lynton House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lynton House
Ranked #17 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a good nights sleep.”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here after our holiday in Cornwall and needed a place for the night to break up the journey. We were shown the family room which on the surface looked ok although decor had long seen better days. Had it not been almost 8pm and with a five year old in tow, I would probably have said no but had tried all other places in the town which were full.
Went out for food and once we came back to settle in the room, realised it wasn't completely clean, with makeup on the throws on the beds and hairs inside the bed! The mattress was so uncomfortable and we could feel the springs popping through, hence we woke often during the night. The next morning we went down for breakfast which was a less than average affair involving cheap frozen sausages and other produce. As my husband reached out to his chair to sit on it, it fell apart in his hand, at which point we laughed out loud! Shocking waste of money at £89 for the night. In retrospect, wish we had refused to pay full amount. My advise give it a miss!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A fairly old building but lovely owners and good location.. Right next to beach. Very welcoming... I "parked" my other half plus 18 month old daughter here for a week and they loved it... Great breakfast btw ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, and various seasons, and have found the accommodation very comfortable and clean and the staff most helpful and efficient, also friendly. As this is mainly a family run hotel everyone is only too happy to give assistance when needed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Lynton House is in a Lovely position. The staff are very freindly and helpful. The food was great. Would recomend to all types of travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caztro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I came for a few days of rest and sea views. Room was clean, well decorated and landlady was friendly, ( bit too chatty at breakfast). I wasn't told my sea views would also include scaffolding across the window and heating was inadequate for the room. Location was good and it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed for a long week end with some friends and we were made very welcome.
Rooms very clean and spacious.
Good breakfast which was varied every day.
Good sea front location meant that some of the rooms had excellent sea views.
Bar available.
Less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre.
Stair lift available.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarsideBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
237 reviews
4.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
523 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton House

Property: Lynton House
Address: 7 Powderham Terrace, Teignmouth TQ14 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lynton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton House Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing