We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one to go back to”
Review of Lynton House

Lynton House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lynton House
Ranked #17 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good location. Very old property that needs a facelift although room was clean. Strange that breakfast is served at 9 am, and only 9am for 24 guests. The food was obviously pre cooked although the bacon seemed to be undercooked.lukewarm breakfast. We were surprised to see a large water cooler in the hallway - for guests use - and wonder if the water pipes there may be made of lead. The owner wearing her dirty apron was not a welcome sight.
Family room had a very small bathroom, no power shower here.

Room Tip: I would not stay at this place again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lalalola7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would like to say that our stay at the Lynton Hotel was most enjoyable, situated in a ideal location along the front with the most beautiful scenes, We only had breakfast and that was prepared to a very high standard, there was plenty of restaurants and cafes with in walking distance if you require evening meals,Lorain & Chris (landlord and landlady) made our stay very enjoyable and could not off done more to make us feel welcome thank you all very much for making our weekend break so remember-able.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a group walking holiday.Breakfast ok but you could not have anything different. No water at surtain times even for the toilet Some times I got a cold shower. I would never go there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivien341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Location very good. Sea view from room. Breakfast not bad.Stayed for 1 week.on a walking holiday.with a group. Our room was on top floor up 59 steps. No lift. Walls in the room damp making our clothes damp.No water for shower or even coming out the taps on most nights. When it did finally arrive it was cold or tepid. The water cut off half way through a shower on more then one occasion. When we told them on the first day there was no water out of the shower we were told to hang he shower head down as it had to be pumped from the ground floor then back up to the top. After more then 20 mins no result. The rooms were all full as we were a rambling club. When a couple of rooms had showers there was no water left for anyone else,Even if we staggered the bathing it made no difference.Yes there was beaming smiles till you complained. Most rooms were shabby and the hotel needs up dating and cleaning.. Would certainly not go back.. .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblerval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

First time at this hotel and glad that I chose this one. Room very good with excellent sea view. Food excellent and made very welcome by Lorraine and Chris. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Had a great stay here with my 2 small boys. Amazing location and I was made to feel very welcome. Great value and although the decor is slightly dated, we were very comfortable in the spacious family room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessUplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

This is a classic B&B but perfect in every respect - the location is great, right on the sea front and only 5 mins walk from anywhere in the town.

Inside our room was spotless and comfortable, shower was powerful and we had a lovely sea view.

A gorgeous cooked breakfast both mornings was always served with a beaming smile by the landlady who made us feel very welcome.

You cannot go wrong with this place if you are staying in Teignmouth.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewJM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Teignmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thornhill Hotel
Thornhill Hotel
#3 of 18 in Teignmouth
181 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Minadab Cottage
The Minadab Cottage
#1 of 18 in Teignmouth
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Apartments
Riviera Apartments
#1 of 2 in Teignmouth
99 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lynton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton House

Address: 7 Powderham Terrace, Teignmouth TQ14 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range: £40 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lynton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton House Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing