We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”

Crab Shack on the beach
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family of commercial fisherman with two working fishing boats. The Crab Shack is a small restaurant on the back beach in Teignmouth where we serve fresh seafood.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a table for lunch in the fantastic Crab Shack. It was simply outstanding from start to finish (2.5 hours later!). We recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly 5*

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    108
    28
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Wonderful food, superb staff and a great atmosphere.
I have travelled extensively around our world often to places where seafood is considered the best.
Not any more - The Crab Shack gets that accolade.

Oh and full of real customers not foodies.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Amazing experience, food & staff ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Staff fantastic, very friendly, food delicious. Definitely a must if you like crab and lobster. We had the platter which was quite the show stopper.

Helpful?
Thank ReaBt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why France?”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been holidaying in France since the 1970's, mainly for the seafood and wine. This year we decided to save on the driving and stay in Devon, (we live near Aberdeen). We found the Crab Shack on the web and couldn't wait to try it. We had a reservation for an evening meal and decided on the Platter for two. My wife prefers lobster while I like crab so we were both happy with the selection. The oysters were better than any I have before, here or France, I don't know where they came from but they were superb.
The staff were excellent, emptying shell containers, replacing napkins and generally ensuring we were enjoying ourselves
It was so good we managed a second reservation for a late lunch later in the week.
I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone, the food is superb, the staff excellent and the prices reasonable. It leaves me thinking "why go to France" .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgedArtisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have dined at this restaurant twice now, and on both occasions it has met our now high expectations. The most visit with our extended family, and again nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. We have another reservation this week, and yet another next month. You do need to book in advance. Its that popular.
They also have the Crab Shack Deli just along the beach, for great take away seafood. The Crab sandwich was divine, the filling was so generous, it was possibly the best Ive ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crab Shack on the beach also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to Crab Shack on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing