We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing way to explore Devon”

SeaSports South West
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Teignmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SeaSports Southwest is a professional water-sports centre based in Teignmouth, South Devon.Featuring activities such as Kayaking, Sailing, Windsurfing, Power-boating and Stand-up Paddle-boarding as well as various shore based activities and courses and Instructor training.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing way to explore Devon”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We visited Sea Sports twice during our stay in Teignmouth.

The weather was lovely and Sea Sports always looked buzzing so we decided to hire a couple of kayaks to explore.

It cost us £10 for a single for an hour or £15 for a double. We took a couple of singles followed by a double as a fair few of us went out.

Was great to venture out to the Salty where the shallow water enables you to get out and collect shells or mussels. The channel is quite busy, deep and has a strong current but we didn't feel in any danger at any point.

The staff are great at making sure you're enjoying yourself and regularly have a nosy out to ensure you're safe. We did make a member of staff zip out on a rib as we tried to tow a member of our party on some kayaks - comforting to know that they actually do take safety seriously. Must have looked as though we were in trouble.

Lots of other activities on offer too such as training courses, paddle boards etc all at reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent training centre”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Completed RYA Power boat level 2 with Seasports,
Excellent company in a beautiful part of Devon,
Friendly,Professional & very competitive prices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

We did a 3 hour introductory sea kayaking trip and it was ace! Our instructor - Mark - was great, really competent, encouraging and gave us some great tips. We really got the feeling this place will go the extra mile - they made us a nice cuppa after our session, let us have a quick try out of a paddle board (it was a quiet day, don't expect this all the time I guess) too. And then, on the way home owner Sue called us to say we'd left a bag behind. She then offered to send it up with some relatives who were driving to near where we lived. Like i say, these guys go the extra mile! A great time, we hope to go back soon!! Thanks.

Helpful?
Thank 33rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun Paddle-boarding”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just had an afternoon learning to paddleboard with Sea Sports, Sue was a fantastic teacher, 2 children picked it up immediately, I took a little longer and my husband managed it eventually. Really good fun for a family activity. We're hoping to go on an expedition up the river next time. Can't wait! Thank you.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelwithkids_NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
2 reviews
“Watersports Training”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I did my windsurfing instructor qualification with Sue and Tim. It was a great week, good fun but loads of learning too. They run a really professional operation that's female and newcomer friendly - none of that macho nonsense you sometimes get with windsurfing etc. A band happened to be playing in the square outside their place when I was there which was a beautiful setting by the water.
Highly recommend to anyone wanting to take to the water in a new mode of transport - or those looking for serious training - Tim knows his stuff.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_42_Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SeaSports South West also viewed

 

Been to SeaSports South West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing