We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RYA Level 2 Powerboating Course”

SeaSports South West
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Teignmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SeaSports Southwest is a professional water-sports centre based in Teignmouth, South Devon.Featuring activities such as Kayaking, Sailing, Windsurfing, Power-boating and Stand-up Paddle-boarding as well as various shore based activities and courses and Instructor training.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“RYA Level 2 Powerboating Course”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Did the RYA Powerboat level 2 course with SeaSports South West last weekend, and had the confidence to take our boat out immediately the following day for the first time. We were worried about doing the course, but needn't have been, Jamie's training style was very relaxed and low-pressure, with plenty of hands-on practical work to build confidence. Everybody very friendly and helpful, and now looking forward to our new boating experience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, Owner at SeaSports South West, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Sop glad you enjoyed the course, no you have the perfect weather to go and practice your skills - enjoy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent RYA Level 1 course”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After doing a 2 day start sailing course at Sea Sports we'd like to wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone else considering it. Our tutor, Martin, was very knowledgable and enthusiastic and made it an enjoyable couple of days. Additionally, the other staff are all friendly and the centre has really good facilities. Thanks all!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, Owner at SeaSports South West, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
So glad you both enjoyed the course, it was a pleasure to meet you both, hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the trouble to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a sea kayaking day with Rob. He is an excellent and enthusiastic instructor and we had a great time with him. We really learned a lot and always felt safe and in good hands, even when practicing capsizing and rescues!
The changing rooms were clean and the showers were lovely and hot. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, Owner at SeaSports South West, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your day with us, thank you for the feed back. we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Windsurfing and Sailing in Teignmouth”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have been back repeatedly to South West SeaSports Centre, my son learnt to windsurf on the sea, has been sailing, paddle boarding, jet ski ing, power boating, kayaking, and every event has been well organised with excellent instruction. A must for anyone who would like to try a watersport, give them a visit and chat to Sue and Tim. The children's pirates party here was an amazing experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheilaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, Owner at SeaSports South West, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for you kind review, so glad you have enjoyed your time with us. We love having you here and hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing way to explore Devon”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We visited Sea Sports twice during our stay in Teignmouth.

The weather was lovely and Sea Sports always looked buzzing so we decided to hire a couple of kayaks to explore.

It cost us £10 for a single for an hour or £15 for a double. We took a couple of singles followed by a double as a fair few of us went out.

Was great to venture out to the Salty where the shallow water enables you to get out and collect shells or mussels. The channel is quite busy, deep and has a strong current but we didn't feel in any danger at any point.

The staff are great at making sure you're enjoying yourself and regularly have a nosy out to ensure you're safe. We did make a member of staff zip out on a rib as we tried to tow a member of our party on some kayaks - comforting to know that they actually do take safety seriously. Must have looked as though we were in trouble.

Lots of other activities on offer too such as training courses, paddle boards etc all at reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SeaSports South West also viewed

 

Been to SeaSports South West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing