We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly little pub.”

Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House
Ranked #29 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a family and dog friendly traditional pub with a great menu and daily specials. A warm welcome, pool table and dart board are always here along with delicious home cooked food and a fully stocked bar including some great local ales! Events list available on request as we have something going on several evenings a week - From Jazz to Quiz to Open Mic - something for everyone! Come and see the Oldest Pub in Teignmouth, we think you will like it!!
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly little pub.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This pub is tucked away but worth a visit. We were recommended to pay a visit here and glad we did. Good beer and tasty food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    63
    18
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“1 hour waiting for egg & chips”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Tried to eat here, but unfortunately due to staff shortages.(unsure planned or unplanned) we were told there was 1 hour at least, for any meal. During this coversation another customer complained they had already waited over 45 mins for their meal, nothing fancy, very basic so gave up & went elsewhere.During quiet periods this is a great place to eat, but worry if they cannot cope with food orders in middle season, how will they cope in high season.I know its hard to juggle & estimate staff, but if you are building a business on food, you need staff to cover all periods.Such a shame, as their bubble & squeak, if you have the patience to wait, is great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmb926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

we came here a while back in feb an we went round town trying to figure out what to eat I grew up in teignmouth an was on a visit seeing family members when the recommended the pub.

the staff were really nice an friendly an the food was amazingly out of this world I ordered the ribs an went it came out I nearly died with shock the plate was huge an the amount of food was incredible for the good value money. the food was excellent really hot an well presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“TERRIFIC PUB ATMOSPHERE TASTY GOOD VALUE FOOD AND HELPFUL STAFF”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Ye Olde Jolly Sailor in the centre of Teignmouth should not be walked passed
There is a terrific pub atmosphere with tasty good value food and helpful, friendly and efficient staff
We went with family on a Friday evening, 30th May, and were delighted with the fish and chip special and great value daily roast
Nice selection of real ales and coffee
Varied desserts at just £3.25 too
Highly recommended
Very helpful lad with a beard looked after us ...thank you

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEFF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Called in today . Was gunna order tbe gammonbut i saw the special board at the bar. I had the mixed grill my partner the scampie. Nice clean place .there were only a couple of others in there so i feared it didnt bode well.
Food came fairly quick . All was very nicely cooked . My meats were all juicy .for £14:25 i felt what i got was a tad dear , the grill didnt have an egg or mushrooms or even a fried tom. I know it doesnt come witb either or all .i just felt a tad short changed for the price as it does say add extra salad and coleslaw for 75p. Swallow the 75p and give a nicer mixed grill.i just felt it needed that little bit more. The scampie meal was a lovely filled plate with nice salad. Overall nice food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wayne205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing