We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok”
Review of Grand Pier

Grand Pier
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,145 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

grand pier its not that grand but worth a visit go through the arcade and then walk a long the pier and back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    61
    96
    53
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gives Teighnmouth a bad name”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Have family in Teighnmouth, beautiful English seaside town; however the Pier sadly doesnt live up to the town; Small, squalid and dingy; it is in dire need of renovation and repair. There isnt really anything on it either , just a few outdated kiddy rides at the back and inside houses a few (rather expensive) arcade machines; and the staff were horrendous; and 60-70 year old lady mans the exchange booth and I dont usually say this she is probably the most miserable old bat i have ever had the misfortune to speak to, I was trying to get my change back because it was stuck in the machine (In one of those coin pusher games) and she shouted at me for NO reason and when i tried to explain that my coins were stuck in the machine she rudely muttered something under her breath and then i showed her it was stuck and she said your putting the wrong coins in and then i said it doesnt matter what coins you put in theres something stuck in the machine; and she verbally spat at me and served someone else.Then the caretaker came along, and i explained the problem and he opened up the machine and while he was rather aggressive in tone, trying to blame me for the mistake he DID re compensate some of my coins that were stuck in the machine.

Nevertheless this pier gives Teighnmouth a bad name, and at the very least could give the staff some anger mangement lessons ; or even better just replace them end of!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank gb2k12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
209 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Outdated”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Tired, Oh so tired. Although there are some modern rides for Kids in the entrance foyet and the 'standard' slot machines in the covered area, the main pier has some very outdated Kids rides which look very tatty. Sorry but this pier lets down the other excellent facilities along the sea-front (play ground, crazy golf & skate board park). Hopefully this will be next on the Council's list for a makeover.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional British Pier”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great traditional pier, well maintained, and surrounded by all that is good about the british seaside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Historic Pier”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The pier isn't very large by today's standards and really needs a facelift. Most of the pier is occupied by gaming machines, and there are various outside attractions farther in. Some of the machines offer paper tokens as prizes, but the difficulty is acquiring enough to exchange them for something worthwhile. Refreshments are available from a run-down looking soft drinks/shakes bar at the main entrance. Not impressed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Pier also viewed

 

Been to Grand Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing