We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaway Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaway Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top notch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at the Seaway last weekend and were pleased with all aspects of the accommodation and the welcome we received from Michelle and Paul. We stayed in the recently refurbished room with the 4 poster bed and excellent bathroom with the roll top bath and separate shower. The room was very clean and well presented. The breakfast was very good with no request too much trouble. It was a pleasure to stay at a guest house where we felt relaxed and at home from the first minute. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for such a nice review. Good to hear you enjoyed the 4 poster room - we are really pleased with the way that room turned out (particularly the bathroom).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
66
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Our first visit to Teignmouth and our stay there was amazing with the thanks to Michelle and Paul. They made us feel extremely welcome and were exceptional hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they even accommodated us with an earlier breakfast on the Sunday. Paul does an amazing breakfast and his scotch pancakes are a definite must. We stayed in the four poster bed room and it was lovely and Michelle kept us stocked up with tea and lovely biscuits. Seaway is a definite must for anyone visiting Teignmouth. Its situated near to the town and not a stones throw away from the beach. Its a lovely warm and friendly Guest House with a home from home feel about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redders01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

My partner, myself and our dog stayed at the Seaway last week and there is nothing bad to report. The owners Michelle and Paul were extremely friendly and helpful, my partner needed to get about using the local bus and train service and Paul looked everything up and printed details for him, nothing was too much trouble.

The decor is bright and spotlessly clean, it is obvious that Michelle and Paul have put a lot of thought and effort into making the Seaway a warm and welcoming place to stay. The breakfast was wonderful, one of the best we have had anywhere.

My partner is going back in May and I know he will be well looked after.

Congratulations to Michelle and Paul for running such a welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsweekend12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two weeks whilst working in teignmouth. Rooms were excellent, very clean and well equipped. The hosts were excellent nothing was ever too much and I feel as though I had made two new friends here. Would definitely return to the seaway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Seaway is a wonderful guest house very close to the centre of Teignmouth. We had the pleasure of staying here for a week . The owners Paul and Michelle are absolutely lovely , really welcoming and accommodating and really looked after us . We stayed in the four poster bed room and it was absolutely gorgeous . The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in a hotel/b&b and we both slept extremely well. The bathroom has a roll top luxury bath and a shower cubicle and toiletries are provided in the room. Even though Seaway is close to the centre of the town it was still quite in the night time so we were not kept awake by traffic etc. The room was really clean infact it was spotless! The breakfasts were absolutely scrummy the home made scotch pancakes with maple syrup were absolutely gorgeous and i couldn't get enough of them ( definitely worth trying ) i'm not really a breakfast person but i looked forward to Pauls pancakes in the morning! Its obvious that Paul and Michelle have really worked hard to build this place up to the standard that they have done . Even though its unrated do not be put off as this place is superb . Seaway is close to all the amities that Teignmouth has to offer. It is close to the main beach , The Den ( which has a kids play area and crazy golf etc) and the pier and the shops and also the ferry to Sheldon and the back beach . We look forward to returning to Seaway very soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adele-andrew-daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I am so glad I found this place, it was a delight to stay here.
Michelle and Paul were very friendly and helpful, and have obviously worked very hard to get the house the way they wanted it ... and it is very good.
Lovely room (I had limited view due to the style of the house, but that didn't matter), really comfy bed and very clean. Only slight problem that the shower-room/loo was a little cramped, but nothing too drastic, very good shower. Plenty tea/coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was delicious - scrummy (local) sausages - and plentiful, I didn't need anything else to eat until evening.
I will certainly look here first whenever I am in Teignmouth again .... but I suspect that I would have to book early!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011Planxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

What a lovely place The Seaway is! Owners REALLY pleasant and friendly and a smashing room - clean, comfortable and well furnished. Really close to the town centre and even closer to the beach! Unfortunately I only had the chance to stay one night and had to leave early the next morning - so didn't get a chance to try the breakfast. But I'll definitely be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
4.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thornhill Hotel
Thornhill Hotel
#3 of 18 in Teignmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Guest House

Property: Seaway Guest House
Address: 27 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaway is a friendly, relaxed guest house situated in the heart of Teignmouth on a level position close to all amenities and just a few yards from the main beach, the promenade, bowling greens, tennis courts, main shopping area and the picturesque old fishing port. All rooms have been redecorated and have newly refurbished en-suites. Each room has tea & coffee making equipment, hair dryer, freeview TV and DVD player plus free WiFi. We also have a small family suite located on its own hallway consisting of a double room, a single room and 2 shower rooms. This year we have refurbished our superior rooms, one has a luxury sleigh king bed with a sea view and an en-suite bathroom with rolltop bath and separate shower. We offer an excellent choice of breakfasts made from locally sourced fresh produce. We use Devon free range eggs, sausages and bacon from our local traditional butcher and fruit & vegetables from our local greengrocer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaway Guest House Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing