We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and very high standard accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaway Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaway Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and very high standard accommodation”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay in Teignmouth staying at Seaway Guest House. Could not fault things in any way. Spotless room, VERY comfy bed, plentiful supplies of tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Of particular note was the breakfast which was delicious - my husband is vegetarian and he was catered for very well and for me?, Freshly cooked scrambled egg each day - I was in 'heaven'. Location great - (as we are not car drivers this is very important) - 3 minutes flat walk to the town centre. Very quiet as well considering the guest house is in the town centre. As I have quite a lot of family in the area and we visit the area several times a year - we will be back! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for such a nice review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay in Teignmouth and appreciated the breakfasts. I like our location because we are pretty close to most things and you can get also get the train to other seaside towns. Hope to see you next time you are visiting relatives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
66
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have just returned from a very comfortable Bank holiday weekend stay at Seaway.

On arriving just after lunchtime I was very pleased to find my room ready. Michelle kindly carried my bag to the room for me and gave advice on good places to eat and to visit for sightseeing.

Teignmouth is a lovely little seaside town. Not so touristy as other towns on the English Riviera coast but great for a weekend break.

My room was clean and cosy, with a brand new bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and free wifi. Everything you could want.

But it was the scrumptious Scotch Pancakes for breakfast that really won me over. Thanks Paul.

Seaway is a great spot to stay in Teignmouth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikkaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Seaway Guest House and for such a nice review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay in Teignmouth - we think it is a lovely little town (but we are a bit biased). Happy you enjoyed the pancakes - we do try to have some variety in our breakfast menu and the pancakes are quite popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night at this guest house.We were greated by Michelle who was very friendly and informative about the area. The room was immaculate and clean.The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and also for such a positive review. Really glad you were happy with the room and with the breakfast and hope you consider our B&B again if you travel to Teignmouth in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night break in Teignmouth, staying at Seaway Guest House. We first stayed here in June 2013 for two nights and was very impressed with the room and particularly the roll top bath! I had four baths in two days :-D. Paul and Michelle were so welcoming and the room was spotless. The amazing breakfast totally won us over and the selection is fantastic. We couldn't wait to return this year and booked two days back in February for a April break. A few days before we were due to arrive we had the opportunity to stay an extra night. Paul and Michelle were very accommodating. This visit also included our 5 month old Puppy. The space we were given was perfect and Paul and Michelle were so understanding at breakfast time, thank you. We totally recommend Seaway Guest House to anyone, with or without pets. A pretty building, warm, clean and feels like home. The location is perfect for beach and shops and plenty of dog walks. Paul and Michelle always have time for there guests and happy to help. The restocking of the rooms each day was excellent, we didn't want for anything. We are looking forward to our next stay already. Don't delay, book your room today :-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for such a nice review - it is always nice for us when guests return. We do try to accommodate everyone, so are happy to welcome a dog in some of our rooms but also keep other rooms pet-free for allergy sufferers. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a break for my birthday. We had a small room at the top of the building (bit difficult for taller people but nothing you can't cope with) and the room was clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast with choice of full English and anything in between, pancakes, fresh fruit salad, croissants, cereal and yoghurt. Parking not too difficult, there is a street nearby (two minutes walk) which has unrestricted parking, there is parking you can use outside between 4.00pm and 10.00am and cheap parking nearby at The Point if all else fails. Michelle and Paul are friendly but not imposing and even have their own entertainment in the form of their regular guest, Ollie from Leicester, who kept us amused over breakfast. Nice little B & B, you can't really fault it. Highly recommended if you're visiting Teignmouth.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a couple of nights the small rooms might be a bit cramped, so best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celidwen_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for such a nice review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our breakfast choices. The room you stayed in is built into the eaves and has sloping ceilings, which does restrict the head room for taller people. If you book with us again please feel free to remind us and we will try to put you in one of the other rooms - the other twin & double rooms do not have sloping ceilings so would perhaps be a better choice for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while working away and couldn't have felt more at home or welcomed! Paul & Michelle went above and beyond to make my stay a pleasant and relaxed one. The room was comfortable, warm and clean and it's in a brilliantly central location. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PCrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for such a good review. Hope to see you again if you are working in the area again, or if you fancy a break in Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhosllanerchrugog wrecsam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a short stay at the seaway guest house, and have to say it was a lovely experience. The place was immaculately clean and the rooms were great. Little detailed made this stay lovely from plenty of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits in the room to soft bed and a great shower. Breakfast was exceptional, thank you so much for the fresh fruit and huge, and I mean huge cooked breakfast. ( oh and the award winning eggs! ) we will certainly book again when we next come down. Rhus bed and breakfast is just a short walk to the town and during the winter you can park for free on the sea front. Thank you Paul and Michelle for making us feel welcome. Anyone who books here will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank taffy1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thanks very much for such a positive review and nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the breakfasts went down well. Hope to see you again if you are ever this way again (and thanks for the eggs award!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
65 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Guest House

Property: Seaway Guest House
Address: 27 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaway is a friendly, relaxed guest house situated in the heart of Teignmouth on a level position close to all amenities and just a few yards from the main beach, the promenade, bowling greens, tennis courts, main shopping area and the picturesque old fishing port. All rooms have been redecorated and have newly refurbished en-suites. Each room has tea & coffee making equipment, hair dryer, freeview TV and DVD player plus free WiFi. We also have a small family suite located on its own hallway consisting of a double room, a single room and 2 shower rooms. This year we have refurbished our superior rooms, one has a luxury sleigh king bed with a sea view and an en-suite bathroom with rolltop bath and separate shower. We offer an excellent choice of breakfasts made from locally sourced fresh produce. We use Devon free range eggs, sausages and bacon from our local traditional butcher and fruit & vegetables from our local greengrocer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaway Guest House Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing