We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Break”
Review of Seaway Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaway Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a fantastic place to stay! Perfectly situated in Teignmouth, the Seaway Guest House is only a matter of minutes walk from the station, sea front, back beach and an array of places to eat, drink and shop. (The Ship Inn and Italian restaurant Fresco are both highly recommended.) The accommodation itself was spotlessly clean and well appointed, there was a great choice of delicious breakfasts catering to all tastes and our hosts could not have been nicer or more helpful. There was lots in the area we wanted to do but didn't have time to - hopefully we'll be back soon! Thanks for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for such a great review. We also think it is a great location - just around the corner from the back beach with it's pubs and restaurants. Hope to see you when you come back to explore the rest of the area. Thanks again - Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you are looking for a guest house in the Teignmouth area then look no further than the Seaway - fabulous location, lovely couple, great,clean, comfortable rooms and amazing breakfasts !!! They cater for all needs (my partner is vegetarian and no problems with choice etc here) You must try the legendary scotch pancakes - cheers Paul! Beware if you are on a diet though! So everything you could hope for and highly recommended, we will be back, all the best Steve & Dor, Stoke on Trent

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveDor106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for such a nice review. Good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you both enjoyed the breakfasts - we try to make sure there is enough choice for everyone. Hope to see you again in the future - Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From my initial enquiry phone call and booking to our stay, we were made to feel very welcome, Seaway walk the fine line between making you feel a welcome individual and being overbearing. Perfect.

Nearby street parking was fine for us

Very helpful giving directions to the venue holding the wedding we were visiting Teignmouth to attend.

We were in the room at the top and back on the B&B, which was quite low. Luckily husband and I are hobbit-like so not an issue, but would be worth checking if you are taller.

Wonderful night's sleep on great big bed and very quiet at the back (we were asked if the seagulls disturbed us, but being from Cornwall, we didn't notice if they were squawking).

The decor isn't 'uber trendy' but it was clean, warm and comfortable.

Breakfast cooked to order and delicious and HOT (is amazing how many places give you a tepid start to the day).

Husband was a little disappointed as he knew it was a dog friendly hotel, and we didn't get to fuss any hounds, but we were introduced to the owners' dog, which I think made his stay.

Great value and if we ever need a place to stay in Teignmouth again, we won't be looking for anywhere else.

Room Tip: Top of the house isn't for tall/ big folk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing such a kind and comprehensive review. Seaway is a Victorian property and most of our rooms have quite high ceilings, however, on the top floor, the ceilings are 6' 8" - 6' 10", so a bit lower than normal and there are a couple of sloping areas near the side walls.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts and weren't disturbed by the seagulls - they are nesting at this time of year, so they do squawk a bit at the moment.
Hope to see you again if you visit Teignmouth in the future. Thanks again, Michelle & Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely weekend stay at the Seaway.
Owners - Paul & Michelle very warm & friendly.
Breakfast excellent - try the pancake stack they're delicious!
Centrally located near to all amenities.
Great value for money - hope to return soon.
Thanks Rose & Steve

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sp1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and we hope you consider our B&B if you ever travel to Teignmouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay in Teignmouth staying at Seaway Guest House. Could not fault things in any way. Spotless room, VERY comfy bed, plentiful supplies of tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Of particular note was the breakfast which was delicious - my husband is vegetarian and he was catered for very well and for me?, Freshly cooked scrambled egg each day - I was in 'heaven'. Location great - (as we are not car drivers this is very important) - 3 minutes flat walk to the town centre. Very quiet as well considering the guest house is in the town centre. As I have quite a lot of family in the area and we visit the area several times a year - we will be back! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for such a nice review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay in Teignmouth and appreciated the breakfasts. I like our location because we are pretty close to most things and you can get also get the train to other seaside towns. Hope to see you next time you are visiting relatives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have just returned from a very comfortable Bank holiday weekend stay at Seaway.

On arriving just after lunchtime I was very pleased to find my room ready. Michelle kindly carried my bag to the room for me and gave advice on good places to eat and to visit for sightseeing.

Teignmouth is a lovely little seaside town. Not so touristy as other towns on the English Riviera coast but great for a weekend break.

My room was clean and cosy, with a brand new bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and free wifi. Everything you could want.

But it was the scrumptious Scotch Pancakes for breakfast that really won me over. Thanks Paul.

Seaway is a great spot to stay in Teignmouth.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikkaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Seaway Guest House and for such a nice review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay in Teignmouth - we think it is a lovely little town (but we are a bit biased). Happy you enjoyed the pancakes - we do try to have some variety in our breakfast menu and the pancakes are quite popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed a night at this guest house.We were greated by Michelle who was very friendly and informative about the area. The room was immaculate and clean.The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Owner at Seaway Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and also for such a positive review. Really glad you were happy with the room and with the breakfast and hope you consider our B&B again if you travel to Teignmouth in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Minadab Cottage
The Minadab Cottage
#1 of 18 in Teignmouth
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornhill Hotel
Thornhill Hotel
#3 of 18 in Teignmouth
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Apartments
Riviera Apartments
#1 of 2 in Teignmouth
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton House
Lynton House
#17 of 18 in Teignmouth
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Guest House

Address: 27 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range: £30 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaway is a friendly, relaxed guest house situated in the heart of Teignmouth on a level position close to all amenities and just a few yards from the main beach, the promenade, bowling greens, tennis courts, main shopping area and the picturesque old fishing port. All rooms have been redecorated and have newly refurbished en-suites. Each room has tea & coffee making equipment, hair dryer, freeview TV and DVD player plus free WiFi. We also have a small family suite located on its own hallway consisting of a double room, a single room and 2 shower rooms. This year we have refurbished our superior rooms, one has a luxury sleigh king bed with a sea view and an en-suite bathroom with rolltop bath and separate shower. We offer an excellent choice of breakfasts made from locally sourced fresh produce. We use Devon free range eggs, sausages and bacon from our local traditional butcher and fruit & vegetables from our local greengrocer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaway Guest House Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing