We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Fish Cafe

Central Fish Cafe
Ranked #65 of 77 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“avoid!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I ordered the large chicken kebab for 5.95, what I received was a plate of Luke warm greasy chips and a few bits of Brown, stringy, bits which looked or tasted nothing like chicken, there was also no salad, peppers, pitta bread or sauces to accompany it, my children had the burgers which said came with a salad, there was no salad on the plate and when we asked the rude staff member who served us he brought over a bottle salad cream!!! total waste of money

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    6
    4
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“difficult to disagree”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I would echo LancashireLass's review
Very poor food and service
Even down to the tomato sauce, bet money that the stuff on the inside was not what it said on the label.
Best avoided

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nivekronnoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

On the strength of the previous reviews, we called in here early evening. The welcome was like the restaurant, cold. I suspect the 3 men behind the counter spoke very little English between them. We were directed through to a dark and dingy dining area at the back of the shop. The seats were badly torn, tables dirty and it was freezing cold. We almost walked out at this stage, but against our better judgement ordered 2 portions of fish and chips. When the meals were delivered the plates were cold. Chips had loads of black potatoes and half the portion was made up of the 'crumbs' from the bottom of the frier.They were luke warm and clearly left overs from a previous day, totally inedible. Fish was full of bones. Was offered a bottle of tartare sauce, but the sauce wouldn't actually come out of the bottle. All in all, the very worst fish and chips I have ever been served, one to be avoided at all costs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SUPER FISH AND CHIPS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Bought fish and chips here twice now, fantastic! Both sunny yet cold days and both my daughter and I were starving .......we sat outside despite the cold, and ate lovely freshly fried cod, and great hand cut chips, yummy!

The fish was a generous portion and had a gorgeous crispy batter, and the chips were superb - clearly hand-cut which makes such a difference with varying lengths and sizes, lovely, and again, a very generous portion, and all @ a great price.

And both were almost too hot to handle, s indeed they should be, but we managed!

And the staff were very courteous and helpful.

Best I've had in years!

They also serve a wide variety of other dishes, but the fish and chips are so good we had them again on our second visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAROSA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsteignton, Devon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips - super tasty and fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Try the blackboard special - £5.50 for large cod, chips, peas, bread and butter and a mug of tea or coffee. Served in the cafe. Unbeatable for taste and value. Give yourself a treat, its great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovelycouple11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Fish Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Central Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing