We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem by the South Coast”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Keats Loft

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Exterior Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Lounge
Exterior
Bedroom
Bathroom
View
River Beach
River
Plaque
Beach
1895 Teignmouth
Keats View watercolour
Aerial View Teignmouth
Christmas view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Teignmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DJWCheshi...
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A little gem by the South Coast”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I've been visiting Teignmouth for nearly 30 years, on and off, with both family and partners.

It's always been a struggle to find a well appointed, clean and comfortable room and I usually opt for a self catering room on the sea front. Whilst offering great views the rooms leave a lot to be desired.

There's only a handful of nice B&Bs in the area as we booked late this year, we missed out on a room. I'm glad we did as we found Keats Loft run by Mike and Trudy.

It's a relatively new venture and located a few steps away from the back beach, pubs and shops. Offering a harbour view it was an easy choice for us.

In the main area there's a well appointed kitchen offering a twin ceramic hob, fridge, freezer and a useful set of utensils for those that fancy cooking a meal or two. Our welcome pack on arrival with cereal, fresh fruit, milk and eggs was a lovely touch.

Also on offer is a comfy sofa, chair and dining table set with wonderful views of the back beach between the streets in front. TV with freeview and a nice stereo was on offer to make use of. Srong Wi-FI was useful too.

The bathroom is quirky with a sloping ceiling but was both clean and modern. There's no shower but we both enjoyed making use of a relaxing bath in the morning after a quick morning dip in the sea.

The bedroom offers useful storage with twin beds, as mentioned by a previous poster a double would be nice, though didn't prove to be a major problem for us. Nice mattresses made for a relaxing sleep and although we visited during the bank holiday music festival, the costly insulated windows provided enough deadening for us to drift off.

The house has a very warm and cosy feel to and you get a sense that you're staying at a friend's house rather than in a self catering apartment.

Our room of choice whilst we're in the area :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy lounge with harbour views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2013
Its so kind of you to write such a positive review - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard17...
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Teignmouth itself is lovely and this aparment was well positioned close to all its amenities. It was clean well laid outvand with a nice view of the harbour. The owners were very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no much
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rootster
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Keat's Loft is ideally situated near Teignmouth back beach. The owners are friendly and helpful, yet unobtrusive. While the narrow street is full of activity (restaurants, pubs and b&bs), it is wonderfully quiet, particularly at night; we thought that the pub next door might be a bit noisy but it was no problem, we slept like logs. The extra space that the self-catering option gives was much appreciated with a large living room/kitchen area. The bathroom is quirky (very sloping ceiling), but none the worse for that, and the option to convert twin beds into a double would have been appreciated, but not a problem. There are two very good pubs nearby (Ship and the Jolly Old Sailor), and the Oystercatcher cafe a few doors away provides fine breakfasts. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2013
We much appreciate your positive review. The comments you make about enabling the twin beds to be joined together are noted & will be an option for future guests - thank you for pointing this out.
We hope we may see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vence, France
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurous facilities & great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nick S
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely comfort”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Great location, super amenities, friendly and hospitable owners and all in all ideal for a peaceful break. Not only is Teignmouth a charming little town but it is a perfect base for exploring lovely south Devon.
We liked Keats Loft very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Big Spring, Texas
1 review
“Perfect location to stay while visiting Teignmouth”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in November 2012

I enjoyed very much staying in historic Keats Loft while visiting Teignmouth, Devon. I found the lodging to be well situated to be in walking distance to most places you would want to go in Teignmouth. The loft is well appointed, clean and the bed slept wonderfully. The Posnette family was very patient and kind to a foreign traveller offering pointers and directions, so that I could make the most of my stay in this lovely village. One nice plus to stayiing in Keats Loft is that the threshold of another historic place, The Ship Inn is only 39 steps from the door of Keats Loft. I loved this pub over looking the Teign River and the Quay. If I have the opportunity to visit Teignmouth again, I'll be sure to stay in Keats Loft when traveling from Texas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were warm and accommodating
Liked least: Some street noise, but I understand this has been addressed.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2013
Thank you for such positive comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Keats Loft and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bright furnishings and the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2013
Very many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing