We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Weekend”
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just returned home from a lovely weekend in Teignmouth staying at the Thornhill Hotel and wanted to share what a wonderful time we have had!

Gorgeous hotel, right on the beach, amazing breakfast and perfect room - Nicola and Brian could not have been more helpful!
Our first family holiday with our newborn was made relaxed and enjoyable with facilities provided and plenty of lovely places nearby to visit! (Including a great round of golf in nearby Shaldon!)

We had a large family room with was perfect with the little one who settled in very happily and would probably have liked to stay! Cot, change mat and facilities provided so we could travel light without all the usual 'baby stuff', all spotlessly clean, peaceful and had everything we needed and more.

We would definitely recommend for families and those looking to enjoy a relaxing retreat surrounded with plenty to entertain all, from golf to live music, beautiful beaches to exciting train rides, picturesque surroundings and more!

Thank you Thornhill Hotel we will be back soon xxx

Room Tip: All EXCELLENT (trip advisor limited me to 'very good' for some reason?! Stayed in room 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickybrian, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for coming to Teignmouth we are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel!
and that Teignmouth is so appealing to families
Thanks
Hope to see you all again soon
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Lovely place to stay, Teignmouth is a very pretty place, nice harbour and lots of pubs and Restaurants to choose from! The rooms are very comfortable and the shower really works!! A lovely couple run the b&b and serve a scrumy breakfast ! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coyi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickybrian, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for your very kind review and for taking the time to write it!
We really enjoyed you staying and hope you return
many thanks Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Many thanks to Nicola & brian for their fantastic hospitality, Brian made us welcome on Friday 10th May and all was good.
was in room 11 which was cosy and quiet with a nice ensuite....
and as for the breakfast, well were do we start.....fantastic fruit salad to start with and a full English to follow.......PERFECT.
Thanks again all the guys were well impressed so im sure you will see us again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACKOANDDEBORAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Brian and Nicola take real pride in their accommodation with high standards of customer service they deserve their success. To sum up the Thornhill Hotel – Excellent accommodation, Spotlessly Clean and Management team that know how to provide customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stopped for leisurely few days in my own room travelling with friends and we were well looked after by Brian & Nicola. Super comfy beds and quite roomy en-suites for a small hotel. Power showers great. Quiet part of town right next to sea front and walks, but easy access to the pubs and restaurants! Comfortable lounge and wi-fi, and best breakfasts. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if you really want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skinnytart, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely review and taking the time to write it!
Hope all is well with you and hope to see you again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here 3 times now as working in the area and will DEFINITLY be going back. Brian & Nick the owners really make you feel at home and make your stay enjoyable.
Got to be the best hotel I have stayed in and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room - all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one night whilst we were walking a part of the SWCP. Excellent rooms, very comfortable bed, great hosts, good breakfast & dog friendly. Hosts were very friendly and helpful and gave good suggestions of places to eat that would take the dog.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
344 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Minadab Cottage
The Minadab Cottage
#1 of 18 in Teignmouth
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton House
Lynton House
#17 of 18 in Teignmouth
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Apartments
Riviera Apartments
#1 of 2 in Teignmouth
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: Mere Lane | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian building, comprising 10 comfortable well-appointed bedrooms, each furnished with flat screen TV. A warm welcome awaits you at the Thornhill where you will be assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your comfort is our priority and the lounge with a sea view is at the disposal of guests at all times. The Thornhill is beautifully situated on the seafront with no hills to climb and only a few 100 yards from the town centre. You can just walk across the promenade to the sandy beach, where you can sunbathe and swim. Alongside the Thornhill there is a heated public lido in contrast to the sea and sandy beach opposite. Long sunshine days and the mild climate of South Devon give rise to the title of The English Riviera of which Teignmouth is the heart. Teignmouth is an the ideal place for sea and river boating, fishing, diving, bowls, golf, bird watching and so much more. The steam railway and the South West Coastal Path pass through the town. At nearby Newton Abbot there are regular horse race meetings and antique fairs. We have a variety of tasty breakfast dishes on our menu including a full English served in our spacious and tastefully decorated dining room.Our buffet table has a wide selection of juices, yoghurts, fruits and breakfast cereals from which to help yourself. Ample tea, coffee and toast completes a good start to the day. Check in is 14.00 To 18.00. Please inform the Thornhill of your arrival times when booking and if you wish to arrive outside of the check in times, please contact the Thornhill. Check out is 8.30 - 11.00. Please call us about late check out. We are happy to keep your luggage for a while once you have vacated the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing