We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, very comfortable and enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, very comfortable and enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spent a night here over the May bank holiday weekend. The property over looks the sea and has the feel of a house - exactly what one wants if travelled from London. Lovely Room upstairs with a view. Not ensuite, but adds to the character! The owner looked after us very well.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    31
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
85
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Thornhill is great value for money and very comfortable. The location is hard to beat - seaside town parking can be an expensive nightmare but the proximity of a reasonably priced (£3 for 24 hours as at July 2013) car park makes it so much easier and with the sea and beach just opposite and restaurants and bars a short stroll away, it is ideally situated for everything. Nicky and Brian are very friendly and welcoming. The room we had on the ground floor was very clean and spacious (if you are a very light sleeper you may not want to be on the ground floor for obvious reasons) and it was a nice touch to have soft, fluffy white towels as well as a cotton robe to wear. Dispenser style shampoo/shower gel and handwash avoids the usual hotel waste and there are also small bottles of hair conditioner which come in handy after a day at the beach. Clean hot shower and very comfy beds. The breakfast is generous and there is plenty to choose from. Try and get one of the homemade flapjack bars - delicious and perfect for a quick snack. There are low steps at the hotel which should not be too problematic for young children and those with mobility issues and the doors seemed to be fairly wide. Would book to go back again for sure.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper you may want to avoid the ground floor unless you take your ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutnabut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was an excellent small hotel in all respects. Very clean, comfortable and friendly. Very good breakfasts - with plenty of choice. Location was also good - being very close to the seafront. No carpark, but the large public carpark was very close.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just returned from an idyllic break at the Thornhill. Nicky and Brian run a superb little hotel with super sea view and close to all attractions. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we would not hesitate to recomend this to anyone, Parking was our only concern but this was unfounded as there is a carpark a short walk from the hotel for £3 / 24 hours. Breakfast was superb, rooms were clean and in goood repair. Pay the extra for the sea view as its well worth it!

Room Tip: Room 6 was great, first floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Excellent Bed and Breakfast Hotel with the beach and Town within 2 minutes walk. You can be guaranteed a friendly and warm welcome from the owners Nicola and Brian Marshall on arrival. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is superb and cooked to the highest standard. Looking forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: Excellent sea view on south side of hotel. Great for dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls Barton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in
The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area recommending both places to visit and places to eat & drink
They supply a good menu for breakfast with all tastes catered for and all food cooked on the premises to order
Great value shown by the amount of recurring guests

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

being 'locals' having moved away 10 years ago and still with family in area, we recently returned to visit an elderly relative and decided not to be a pain to our family, so stay in a local hotel. Having spent most of our lives in this area we still couldn't think of anywhere else but one Hotel in Teignmouth. Using the internet we found the Thornhill and what a gem!
Most excellent accommodation, the best Sea-view you will get without sitting on the beach, super friendly proprietors and hosts with a breakfast to be proud of to boot!
As an ex-local can I heartily recommend you use this venue as your first option for a relaxing, luxurious, restful stay in South Devon. Perfect not just for that beach option, but as a base for a few explorations into Dartmoor. If you want to know the best places where only the locals know - ASK A LOCAL! Coming back to the Thornhill will be the perfect recipe for relaxation!
In the best possible quote "we'll be back!"

Room Tip: call them direct to get the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Property: Thornhill Hotel
Address: Mere Lane | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian building, comprising 10 comfortable well-appointed bedrooms, each furnished with flat screen TV. A warm welcome awaits you at the Thornhill where you will be assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your comfort is our priority and the lounge with a sea view is at the disposal of guests at all times. The Thornhill is beautifully situated on the seafront with no hills to climb and only a few 100 yards from the town centre. You can just walk across the promenade to the sandy beach, where you can sunbathe and swim. Alongside the Thornhill there is a heated public lido in contrast to the sea and sandy beach opposite. Long sunshine days and the mild climate of South Devon give rise to the title of The English Riviera of which Teignmouth is the heart. Teignmouth is an the ideal place for sea and river boating, fishing, diving, bowls, golf, bird watching and so much more. The steam railway and the South West Coastal Path pass through the town. At nearby Newton Abbot there are regular horse race meetings and antique fairs. We have a variety of tasty breakfast dishes on our menu including a full English served in our spacious and tastefully decorated dining room.Our buffet table has a wide selection of juices, yoghurts, fruits and breakfast cereals from which to help yourself. Ample tea, coffee and toast completes a good start to the day. Check in is 14.00 To 18.00. Please inform the Thornhill of your arrival times when booking and if you wish to arrive outside of the check in times, please contact the Thornhill. Check out is 8.30 - 11.00. Please call us about late check out. We are happy to keep your luggage for a while once you have vacated the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing