We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Fantastic location, owners were so welcoming, the hotel was so clean and the rooms spotless and the breakfast was the best I've ever had, there was so much to choose from! We look forward to out next stay at the Thornhill Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    31
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
87
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had stayed at The Thornhill before with the previous owners so already knew it was a comfortable, well positioned hotel with a reputation for good breakfasts. We were delighted with the upgrading that the hotel had had and Nicola and Brian's attention to detail, warm welcome and great customer service. A very comfortable bed, hot shower, fluffy white towels and white bathrobes.
The breakfasts were superb with as much fresh coffee and tea as you wanted. We particularly liked the variety of fresh fruits which when mixed with Activia yoghurt made a very refreshing start to the day. My husband Nigel loved the cooked breakfast and we both thought the poached eggs were perfect.
It was a very relaxing 4 night stay and we will look forward to our return and may try an evening meal next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Energyatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Yes - the reviews are all true - this little hotel is fab! We have always stayed in Shaldon but now we've found Thornhill that'll be changing. The owners are extremely accommodating and friendly. The location is perfect. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My two friends and I had the most wonderful time staying at the Thornhill. Everything was perfect.Brian and Nicola were such lovely people, nothing was too much trouble. they had a great eye for detail. The Whiskey and Americans were lovely after our days out!,,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petal1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAPHOS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Having traveled a long distance, we were greeted warmly by Nicky and Brian we were shown to our room overlooking the sea.We were asked if we would like anything to eat or drink.The hotel is very homely and the bed was extremely comfortable. Nice thick white towels and plenty of hot water in our en-suite. Would recommend staying there as only a short walk to most things.
We will return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skseacaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Sometimes you read fantastic reviews on this site and you wonder if you stayed in the same hotel as the person who wrote them but the reviews of the Thornhill hotel are all on the money.

From our arrival when Brian greeted us and actually gave me £3 for the car park, whilst apologising for not having a car park, our stay was perfect. The location is excellent for the beach and town centre and the cooked breakfast was delicious. My partner now wants me to find out what type of matress they use as the it was so comfortable.

To be honest I did look at the picture of the hotel and think 'dated' but I'm glad that it did not put me off.

Thanks you Brian and Nicky for a lovely stay...we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spent a night here over the May bank holiday weekend. The property over looks the sea and has the feel of a house - exactly what one wants if travelled from London. Lovely Room upstairs with a view. Not ensuite, but adds to the character! The owner looked after us very well.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
80 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Property: Thornhill Hotel
Address: Mere Lane | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian building, comprising 10 comfortable well-appointed bedrooms, each furnished with flat screen TV. A warm welcome awaits you at the Thornhill where you will be assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your comfort is our priority and the lounge with a sea view is at the disposal of guests at all times. The Thornhill is beautifully situated on the seafront with no hills to climb and only a few 100 yards from the town centre. You can just walk across the promenade to the sandy beach, where you can sunbathe and swim. Alongside the Thornhill there is a heated public lido in contrast to the sea and sandy beach opposite. Long sunshine days and the mild climate of South Devon give rise to the title of The English Riviera of which Teignmouth is the heart. Teignmouth is an the ideal place for sea and river boating, fishing, diving, bowls, golf, bird watching and so much more. The steam railway and the South West Coastal Path pass through the town. At nearby Newton Abbot there are regular horse race meetings and antique fairs. We have a variety of tasty breakfast dishes on our menu including a full English served in our spacious and tastefully decorated dining room.Our buffet table has a wide selection of juices, yoghurts, fruits and breakfast cereals from which to help yourself. Ample tea, coffee and toast completes a good start to the day. Check in is 14.00 To 18.00. Please inform the Thornhill of your arrival times when booking and if you wish to arrive outside of the check in times, please contact the Thornhill. Check out is 8.30 - 11.00. Please call us about late check out. We are happy to keep your luggage for a while once you have vacated the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing