We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on this super B&B!”
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this super B&B!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Thornhill and could not get over the attention to detail and the friendly family that run this B&B. Breakfast was timely and excellent in choice of fresh produce and menu items.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESTHER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    31
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
87
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very cute B&B style hotel. Right out on the front of the sea wall, nice quick walk to the center of town. The rooms were cute and cozy, all the amenities one would need. The only complaint I have is that Breakfast service was horribly slow. It took the waitress 40min just to take our order. She was very quick to get us coffee, but then she literally went one table at a time. There was only about 7 tables of 2 and having been in Hotel management for a number of years this should be an easy achievement. I noticed 3 people in the kitchen so managing this small service should be an easy feat. Once breakfast arrived it was a good full breakfast.
I would certainly stay here again, however waitress need s to learn her trade a little better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlbalTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Thornhill for 1 night only in July and we will certainly return when we next visit. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was lovely (though the bathroom was a little dated), the breakfast was delicious and the location excellent. The only down side for me was the lack of on site parking, but there appears to be plenty nearby, though its in a parking meter zone.

Thanks very much we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment i got there until i left, the staff were polite and always had a smile on there face. My room was clean, decor was stylish, comfortable bed and modern bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My mum has stayed here on two occasions in the last few months. The standard of room was fantastic, spotlessly clean, comfortable & well fitted. Comfortable beds, brilliant bathroom, tea / coffee facilities etc, everything you could want.

Breakfast fantastic, good variety on the menu, not your usual, eggs Benedict, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, fresh fruit salad etc, alongside an excellently cooked full English! Even accommodated myself and girlfriend as non residents so that we could have breakfast with my family, lovely touch!

The family that run the hotel cannot do anymore for you and I would not even consider booking my mum into any other hotel, she has even rebooked for next week!

This is the best hotel in Teignmouth, absolute value for money!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystalekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic return to the thornhill, great hosts, superb breakfast and brilliant all round visit. We'll be back again later in the year, and we are all looking forward to it already!

Very friendly and comforting place and you feel more than welcome throughout your visit.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackd94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here on a weekend break with family. The hotel is a lovely place, clean, comfortable beds and a nice hot shower. Breakfast is fantastic, full English, cereal and fruit. Overall a very friendly place and we won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theelcocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
80 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Property: Thornhill Hotel
Address: Mere Lane | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian building, comprising 10 comfortable well-appointed bedrooms, each furnished with flat screen TV. A warm welcome awaits you at the Thornhill where you will be assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your comfort is our priority and the lounge with a sea view is at the disposal of guests at all times. The Thornhill is beautifully situated on the seafront with no hills to climb and only a few 100 yards from the town centre. You can just walk across the promenade to the sandy beach, where you can sunbathe and swim. Alongside the Thornhill there is a heated public lido in contrast to the sea and sandy beach opposite. Long sunshine days and the mild climate of South Devon give rise to the title of The English Riviera of which Teignmouth is the heart. Teignmouth is an the ideal place for sea and river boating, fishing, diving, bowls, golf, bird watching and so much more. The steam railway and the South West Coastal Path pass through the town. At nearby Newton Abbot there are regular horse race meetings and antique fairs. We have a variety of tasty breakfast dishes on our menu including a full English served in our spacious and tastefully decorated dining room.Our buffet table has a wide selection of juices, yoghurts, fruits and breakfast cereals from which to help yourself. Ample tea, coffee and toast completes a good start to the day. Check in is 14.00 To 18.00. Please inform the Thornhill of your arrival times when booking and if you wish to arrive outside of the check in times, please contact the Thornhill. Check out is 8.30 - 11.00. Please call us about late check out. We are happy to keep your luggage for a while once you have vacated the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing