We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful day out for a large group”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Devon Wine

South Devon Wine
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in Teignmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: South Devon Wine Tours provides bespoke wine tours to a selection of Devon's award winning vineyards. You'll see how the grapes are grown, how wine is made, and have the chance to sample wine from some of our favourite local producers. As well as a light lunch, we provide pick up and return to your accommodation. We cover most of South Devon, including Dartmouth, Sidmouth, Exeter and Taunton.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful day out for a large group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

June 2014 - I was looking for something to do with a group of 10 (5 couples) that would keep everyone entertained and came across a couple of vineyards offering tours in Devon. However, transport was a problem as most of the group would want to taste the wine, and that's when I stumbled across Kate and Andy's brilliant tour company. Organising the tour with Kate was easy peasy and on the day we were picked up on time, ferried around in a spacious mini bus and car, and taken to Old Walls vineyard and Sharpham's estate. Old Walls vineyard is a smaller family owned business and gave us the beginning to end view of producing wine, run by Ken who is clearly passionate and very knowledgeable about his business. I realised how much effort goes into producing just one bottle of wine that day, especially by a smaller business, and the lunch served after the talks and wine tasting was simple but good. Andy and Kate then took us on a scenic route to Sharpham's estate which was a contrast to Old Walls in that it is very much a commercial business, and there we got to enjoy walk around the vineyard and enjoyed spectacular views to the river and steam paddle boat. The group enjoyed the wine and cheese tasting here (although not as much selection of cheese that day due to Sharpham's selling out of most of their varieties). Andy and Kate were superb throughout the day and were clearly knowledgeable about Devon's vineyards and what they had to offer. They took care of our group for the day and got us back at the promised time of 5:30pm. A great day out for all and well worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1SVP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, Owner at South Devon Wine, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks Seena for such a great review, we really enjoyed the day as well and it was really nice to meet you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were picked up bang on time by Andy and Kate in their comfortable large vehicle and taken to the first of three vineyards - Old Walls Vineyard. Here we had a detailed talk by owner Ken on the production of grapes and the making of the wine before a tasting session of the 7 different wines produced, followed by a lovely ploughmans lunch. Our next visit was to Froginwell Vineyard and ciderbarn; a smaller operation but absolutely delicious wine and wonderful light sparkling cider. Our third visit of the day was to Pebblebed vineyard. A totally different ethos and way of production and an interesting contrast. Our visits were made so much more enjoyable by the informative conversation from Andy, who knew so much about the local area and wine production in general. I thoroughly recommend South Devon Wine Tours for anyone interested in visiting the local vineyards and tasting the wines - no more deciding who does the tasting and who drives. Andy and Kate do the navigating, driving and everything else! Andy even popped back to our accomodation a few hours later to return something that I had accidently left in their car during the day - sorry Andy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank okeydokeIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, Owner at South Devon Wine, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
No problem returning your property, just glad we could find it in the van. Was great fun showing you around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Grand Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Brilliant service from Kate, chauffeuring us door to door, made it so easy to enjoy all the varied produce at 3 different vineyards. with the lovely waggy tail of Tiggy looking after the biscuits.
The history and local knowledge of winemaking was extremely interesting thanks to the well informed Andy who was easy to listen to and made the different venues all great fun in their different ways.
the super food at Froginwell Vineyard made it an easy decision to come again with friends and the lovely owner, Kate, kindly showed us around the "nuts & bolts" of the enterprise. A lovely setting for summer weddings and camping too.
Sharpham Vineyards lovely wines and fabulous cheeses made it difficult to choose which samples to buy but will be back for more in the summer hols .
Pebblebed is very interesting with its organic attitude to winegrowing and its encouraging to see the hedgerows allowed to burgeon and fill with wildlife.
all the venues had fabulous views and it was so easy to enjoy with someone else doing the driving.
Despite the soggy start it was a fabulous day out and we thank Andy and Kate of SDWT for making it special. HIghly recommended .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank humbug007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a great day out with South Devon Wine Tours last week. We were picked up from our campsite in the morning by Andy & Kate. They were very easy company and it was nice to have local history and information given to us as we travelled around. We began with a tour of the Old Walls Vineyard, our first and longest visit of the day. Ken, the owner, gives a really detailed explanation of what goes into wine making - who knew how much is involved! The sampling at the end was very agreeable! After a pleasant lunch and complimentary glass of wine we headed off to Froginwell, a much smaller set up but equally as interesting in a lovely setting. Again we got to sample the wine together with some of their own ciders which are also brewed by them, excellent! We finished off with a trip to Lily Farm Vineyard, again informative and interesting and it was impressive to see how many awards their wines have achieved. We were returned to our site at about 6pm having had a really good day out with excellent hosts - this is a tour for anyone who enjoys a glass of wine, you'll come away with a new appreciation of your favourite glass of vino! Thank you Andy & Kate.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Day out - informative and recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We enjoyed the South Devon Wine Tours very much each one had a story to tell. We liked Ken’s vineyard tour and talk in detail. didn’t realise how much hard work goes into drinking wine, all the wines were lovely. We also had a lovely ploughman’s lunch. At Froginwell Vineyard we had a wonderful cream tea in the beautiful country setting in the barn. Our hosts Andy and Kate were excellent and answered all questions and the drive was lovely going through the old villages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 21MariaRosaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, Owner at South Devon Wine, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your day with us. Hope to see you again, there are more vineyards to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Devon Wine also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to South Devon Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing