We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TO BAY OR NOT TO BAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel at £80.00 for b and b. We got a small room (10) on top floor. Loads of narrow stairs with very dodgy handrail.No view except side street. Poor teamaking facilities .awful bathroom with leaking tap,loo flush hardly operating,window not opening due to broken sashcord(this might be illegal?) Chandelier in bedroom so low it hits your head everytime you walk across the room. Breakfast mediocre;had to keep asking for all the things not on the table and not very pleasant staff. Parking is pretty poor and once you are in it is a problem to get out. Food VERY EXPENSIVE and a limited menu on offer. Had a lovely roast at the pub nearby at half the price! Would never stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnnie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

From a distance the Bay Hotel looks very smart (and there isn't much choice in Teignmouth), but on closer inspection it is clear it is in need of refurbishment. The gentleman owner had a room and showed us up two narrow flights of stairs, however we were pleasantly surprised. He had obviously been watching The Hotel Inspector as the room was magnolia with an accent wall, and had some 'shabby chic' furniture. However the chandelier was like nothing I have ever seen before.... The bathroom was very large and clean but in desperate need of decent grouting around the bath and new shelving (which was sloping) instead of cheap metal hanging shelving for your toiletries. The sink plug had had an argument with its chain. Little things like this let the room down. The bed was a small double but very clean and fresh with a clean duvet cover, although my husband's pillows both sagged into the middle. It doesn't cost much to replace things like this and tidy up the bathroom. OK I will now mention the breakfast room. We had to walk into the basement – down some more dingy stairs to a filthy dirty door which had no sign on. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we entered the large breakfast room, again they had refurbished in shabby chic cream and mulberry with trendy canvases on the walls, although it was a bit stuffy as there were no windows.. But why that awful awful depressing walk down to the basement which really puts you off eating there? There is a perfectly large, airy dining room on the ground floor which would have been so much better to eat in. Breakfast was adequate, but not much choice apart from a cooked breakfast or a couple of eggs. Again I must stress the staff were all lovely and friendly, but this place needs finishing off, outside and the common parts need a good coat of paint, clean fresh carpets, especially the basement and door leading to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaveTheBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Comfortable four night stay in very central hotel, handy for all attractions. Breakfasts were excellent. Freshly cooked to order. Did not have dinner here as we were visiting relations and ate out. Pleasant friendly staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms will have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnIsleofSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is well situated close to the sea front. Parking is at a premium here and the hotel has some spaces, a very helpful porter will move cars and assist, we left our car on the road and he moved it onto the hotel parking area, most useful. The hotel itself is fine, clean, nothing outstanding. Breakfast is quite good, but our service was very poor, the young guy looked and acted like he would rather be anywhere else than serving, which was a shame as the food was ok. In terms of value, we would probably go for a B&B which would be cheaper and the experience probably better and more personal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Loved the room we had, it was modern bright and airy, with a sea view. We had food in the hotel on the Friday and it was amazing and drinks in the bar.

We met the owners and them and the other staff couldn't do more for us. Also a hidden surprise where you eat breakfast which is also lovely.

The only thing I would say was about my hair dryer took it for two days but the cleaner took it away I didn't realise til I came out of the shOwer with wet hair!! So check and get it back if you need it before a shower :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed two nights here which was lovely in every way. Pretty, spotlessly clean room with a stunning view over the sea. The weather was exceptional so we were able to have drinks in the evening on the charming bar terrace. The staff, who were very polite and friendly could not do enough for us. We did not dine in the hotel as we were seeing family but the menu looked very tasty. The breakfast was full english breakfast at its very best. Will definitely be staying here again. Ten out of ten from us !

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are well worth the extra for the truly stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyprus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a few nights for a break away from the city. We booked the penthouse and upon arriving we immediately realised it was a great idea. Stunning views, very clean, a great breakfast and pleasant and helpful/friendly staff makes this one of my favourite places to stay. Top marks.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di5coStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
344 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel

Address: Sea Front 15 Powderham Terrace, Teignmouth TQ14 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing