We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Minadab Cottage
Ranked #1 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Not usually people to write a review we've just returned from a 2nd break at the Minadab cottage and felt we had it give some feedback & thank Anne and Andy for a wonderful stay.

Welcome: On arrival Anne the owner prepared some home made scones with cream and jam & teas and drinks. This was very welcome after a long drive.

Location: Easy to find, on the main road but not a noisy road so you couldn't hear the traffic driving past.

Rooms: On our first trip we stayed in the pickle room on the ground floor (our preferred room). It was clean & spacious with a large en-suite with goodies such as toiletries, fluffy white towels and flannels (a nice touch) and a decent bathroom light over the sink. There were complimentary cookies (made by Anne) and a great selection of complimentary drinks (fruit teas, earl grey, cokes, water & freshly ground blue mountain coffee sachets, (good taste Andy!))
On our 2nd trip we stayed in the Phoebe room (sea view) like our 1st visit all the nice things listed above were also part of the package.
Tj
Breakfast: Fresh fruit salad, cooked breakfast, home-made bread, jams and marmalade, cereals and fresh juices what more could you ask for.

Owners: Anne and Andy have the balance just right they are friendly but not over the top and manage the guest relations superbly. If they have it you can have it an example of this was us mentioning that we use memory foam pillows at home and when we returned the same evening a memory foam pillow had been placed in the room. Two lovely people and if we ever return to that neck of the woods we will be sure to return to the lovely Minadab cottage.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Palomosdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Rachel and Walt thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review it was lovely to have you here and I would like to thank you for sharing your very special time with us. I hope everything is all you wished for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

if there was a higher rating this is the place to get it.I wont repeat everything that is said in the best of these reviews just to reiterate. If you want a brilliant B&B, a wonderful breakfast and treats, superb friendly hosts plus extras this is the one to choose.
we will certainly be returning, thank you both for a wonderful 2 nights stay
Alan and Radiance

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshfruitbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Alan and Radiance it was very nice to meet you. Thank you for your kind words and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

On arrival you are greated by your hosts with a nice cup of tea, coffee or cold drink the choice is yours. The best bit however was the home made scones topped with home made jam and finnished off with local produced cream, diet what diet lol.. Then some basic security instruction regard comming and going, okay may sound boring but it safeguards your belongings. Anne then showed us to our room it had everything you could want for a long or short stay, includeing a small fridge with drinks, milk etc., and your welcome to bring wine back if that is your thing, your also allowed to bring takeaways back to the accomodation. The room was spotless and the shower sparkled, it is in my opinion 4* +.
After an excellent first nights sleep and a cracking warm shower we went down to breakfast. I can't go into all that was on offer as it is just to much to list on here. What I can say is everything was fresh, and tasety. Andy's home made bread was awesome. Anne's porridge is fantastic you must give it a try topped off with the local honey. Do not expect to order a full english breafast and have it in front of you in two minutes every thing is cooked fresh and comes out hot and looking how a meal should look, not all dry from being under a lamp.
Anne and Andy gave us some great locations to eat out and we were not dissapointed. Nothing was to much for our hosts they were always available to help. An example is my car playing up, Anne not only arrange a garage to check my car out but also carry out the repair. She drove us to the garage when the work was completed and all we lost was 3 1/2 hours of the day.
My title home from home is because Anne and Andy share their home with you none of this don't do this attitude, they are only interested in seeing you have a good time and enjoy Devon. We found the local people to be very friendly with loads of smiles and willing to chat.
I would recommend the Smugglers Inn good beer and super food at good prices. The Ship Inn warm and welcomeing, lovely staff very clean drinks first class. The Jolly Sailor great food but spoilt by the state of the furniture, my dogs bedding was cleaner and they had the cheak to tell me not to let my dog jump up. There was no fear of that she would have caught something off the furniture. They also allowed a dog in the pub that was aggressive and never addressed the issue when it attacked two other dogs.
I missed a couple of point earlier on but must mention them and that is Annes home is dog friendly. Not all people however like dogs and there was one such guest when we stayed. With me not thinking and comming down with my dog Anne noticed the change in the ladies face and immediately placed her body between dog and lady, the change in her guests face was instant she had been made safe by Anne being so observant and acting immediately.
Trust me people I am not the best with words but to sum up this is a wonderful place to stay with great owners giving that bit extra for you. If your not sure Google Minadab Cottage contact Anne and see for yourself how well your treated even with just a phone call.
Thanks Anne and Andy we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Brin it was lovely to meet you and Chris and a pleasure to have Bonny here. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to give all our guests a taste of what Devon has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you abac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We came across the Minadab cottage when looking for a place to stay on our way back to the Midlands.
All reviews were glowing, and we loved the look of the cottage with its thatched roof and pink exterior.
The selling point for us was the photo of the 3 beautiful Weimaraners Izzy, Poppy and Lucy :) (fellow dog lovers)
We were given a warm welcome by Anne and Andy, and shown to our room on the ground floor, Pickle.
The room was tastefully decorated in beach hut style, and immaculate, as well as having complimentary biscuits and drinks in the fridge.
Lovely comfortable bed too.
After we had settled in we were treated to Anne's special cream tea, with home made scones and jam, and locally sourced clotted cream.
We had a key to the front door, and were free to come and go as we pleased.
There were plenty of taxi numbers etc. in the information folder, and Anne gave us tips on which pubs were best.
Had a very enjoyable night at quiz night in Ye Olde Jolly Sailor! didn't win the £689 jackpot though....
Breakfast started with a choice of tea, coffee, cereal and yoghurt, with locally sourced apple juice - delicious.
There was a good menu choice; as well as a full English with locally sourced ingredients again (very nice sausages) there was a lighter choice of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on an English muffin, which was lovely, as well as other choices.
Anne and Andy are very passionate about their lovely little cottage and this definitely shows.
They are also dog lovers which makes them five star as far as we were concerned!
The cottage is also dog friendly with lots of good walks and dog friendly beaches nearby.
All in all a lovely place to stay, not one bad thing to say, immaculate and all needs catered for, you are definitely made to feel very welcome here.
Hopefully we will be back soon, thanks again, Liz and Gaz xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Lizzi thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you and Gaz and to talk about the music (yes I have been on to the web site!) Izzy, Poppy and Lucy our Weimy girls love to say hello so it is lovely when they get to have a cuddle. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Minadab when you come back to Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have been travelling in the UK for 18 months and have five extra special B&B's worth travelling to. Minadab Cottage is one of them. Anne and Andy are professional people who make the stay very special and different. They are warm and welcoming and nothing is any trouble. They offer little touches that make all the difference such as fresh milk and a fridge to store it in, a cream tea on arrival with scones to die for, home-baked biscuits in the room, and access to plates and utensils for in-room dining. The breakfast has several choices and all are delicious. When I asked for a smaller portion, they willingly obliged, not something that always happens.
The room we had was beautifully decorated, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and had a delightful view of the ocean.
If you are looking for a base in Devon, stay here, for as long as you can as Anne and Andy are truly delightful people.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Simon thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you and Judith. I am so glad that you were comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday and have a safe trip back to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The Minadab was simply one of the best short breaks we have been on!! The hospitality, friendliness & the 'nothing's too much trouble' approach of the owners (Ann & Andy) you'd find very hard to surpass.
We stayed in Phoebe for 3 nights - shame it wasn't longer!!
The room had an amazing view. Having binoculars was a nice touch.
Having a small fridge stocked daily with complimentary water, coke & fresh milk (not even top hotels afford such things) was a fantastic touch!! But then there were the fresh cookies!! Not going to mention these any more but wait & see!!
The whole building is very unique - can't remember staying in such a sweet thatched place before.
The afternoon tea on arrival was superb. We even had my wifes parents & brother join us for one night & had another one!!
Breakfast was truly delicious & a great chance to tap into the knowledge of the area with Ann & Andy & just chat (great hosts).
When the rest of the family joined us, they went above & beyond & out of their way to accommodate us - even reorganising the breakfast area!! A big thank you!!
This stay was part of our 1st wedding anniversary & we were truly blessed.
Thank you, thank you, thank you - we will certainly come back!!
All the very best Ann & Andy - really hope The Minadab becomes all you want it to be!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Gary thank you so much for this lovely review. It was lovely to meet you and Becky and I am so glad that you chose to spend your special occasion at The Minadab. Becky, it was our pleasure to have your parents and your brother with us and we are happy that we were able to surprise you all by putting all the table together so you could have a cosy family breakfast. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We only stayed the one night, but were treated as though we were old friends. We were given a very tasty cream tea upon arrival and spent an hour chatting with Andy, very informative on the area. We stayed in room Phoebe, and the bed was just so comfortable, I did toy with the idea of grabbing another hour, but I had the breakfast to look forward to. Glad I got up the full English was very tasty, and the selection of fruit and cereal was very good, the orange juice was very tasty, not sure if it was freshly squeezed but it did wake me up. It was so nice to stay at a place where the hosts have time to chat and just be really nice, I do not usually give excellent marks, but this place is so nice, I have made an exception. Another bonus were the handmade biscuits and the freshly ground coffee in the room.

Room Tip: You have a choice of 3 rooms, choose one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Kim thank you for writing this review we really appreciate it. It was lovely to welcome you and Jo to The Minadab and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the orange juice is freshly squeezed. We always like to have a chat it is nice to hear what our guests have planned and see if there is anything we can help with. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.7 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
251 reviews
2.9 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
341 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Minadab Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Minadab Cottage

Address: 60 Teignmouth Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range: £79 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Minadab Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minadab Cottage is a luxury Bed and Breakfast in the picturesque town of Teignmouth with colourful gardens and plenty of parking. Once inside the character and warmth of this historic home encourages you to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Minadab Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minadab Cottage Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing