We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Minadab Cottage
Ranked #1 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at Minadab. The owners, Anne and Andy could not have been more kind and welcoming. We stayed in Phoebe room with a coastal view, and every last detail had been thought of and provided. Apart from the usual toiletries, there were face pads, cotton wool buds and an emery board, a lovely touch. The food was excellent as all previous reviews have highlighted, from the cream tea (and my husband doesn't even like cream!), to the biscuits in the room and the delicious breakfast. The bacon and sausages were really good quality, and the home made bread, preserves and fresh orange juice were gorgeous. Their knowledge of the local area was really helpful too. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Minadab to anyone. The property has literally just been re-thatched and it looks even better than the photos. Although the owners have 3 large dogs, we didn't hear a sound from them. Thank you Anne and Andy!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, choose the Phoebe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Lindsey it was lovely to meet you and Andrew. Thank you for your wonderful review We do try to keep all the produce we use very local. We are delighted with the new thatch and I'm glad that you liked it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
150
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is better than 1st class! The homemade complimentary biscuits, marmalade, jam and bread is awesome! Having fresh squeezed orange juice was a treat, you don't get that in many places these days! The hosts are lovely people who have pay a lot of attention to detail with everything they have done and do:-) the room is fit for a king! Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcompton2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Minadab and hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you are in Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This place is just stunning! The owners clearly love their home, and take pride in themselves and what they do. Every little detail has been thought of!

Our room, pickle, was absolutely beautiful and breakfast was delicious, with everything either homemade or local.

After taking us in after a disastrous experience at the Bay in Teignmouth, there is no comparison. Choose this one! Stunning!! Thank you so much for a perfect stay! Wish it was longer!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Cath thank you very much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you and Mike. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you every success with your new venture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a welcome from Ann with a delicious home made cream tea - picked up some tips from Ann on jam making. The room was lovely as was the excellent en-suite. We had a great nights sleep. Lovely to find a small fridge in the room with proper milk and the home made biscuits were superb. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend this thatched bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Sue thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed the little treats and homemade goodies. I hope you gave the jam a try and that it reminds you of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our third visit in 18 months and we loved it again. This time we brought my wife's sister and hubby visiting from New Zealand, plus her brother and wife who had been with us before. The NZ contingent were knocked out by the welcome, the service and the superb breakfasts that Anne and Andy provided. They are are just the best hosts and continue to make incremental improvements in their fabulous house. The reviews really do speak for themselves.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have their own individual character - you just can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Dave it was lovely to welcome you and Deb and Michael and Margaret back for another visit and especially Trish and Peter for their first stay from New Zealand. It's always a pleasure to have you here and to have a laugh and a joke over our respective rugby teams!
I look forward to your next visit we will have been re-painted and re-thatched so it will look very different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a wonderful couple of night stay at this lovely B&B. We received a very warm welcome as soon as we passed the door from Ann and Andy. Lots of tea pots to warm us up after our trip in our vintage car and a home made cream tea whcih was delicious. The room was brilliant and incredibly clean. The home made biscuits delicious and it's very convenient to have fridge and tea facilities tray so filled with choices of beverages! Andy even dropped us in Teignmouth on New Year's Eve to avoid us being soaked. The home made cooking is delicious and everything locally sourced if not home made. Nothing is too much for Ann and Andy and this little place is certainly a piece of heaven on earth. We are already planning to come back! Thank you both for a lovely stay and a wonderful start of the 2014 year! Muriel & Doug

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Muriel thank you for writing this wonderful review. I'm glad that we were able to make your stay so comfortable and it was our pleasure to make sure you didn't get wet on New Years Eve. I hope you will be able to come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a fabulous find!Anne was the hostess with the mostest...made us feel very welcome on our arrival with her easy outgoing nature and tea and homemade scones.Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for either Anne or Andy.Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.We will definitely be booking again soon,We highly recommend this wonderful thatched cottage in Devon

Room Tip: sea view room had super king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitchengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Mandie thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you and Jake and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Minadab. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.7 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
332 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
699 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
95 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Minadab Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Minadab Cottage

Property: The Minadab Cottage
Address: 60 Teignmouth Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Minadab Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minadab Cottage is a luxury Bed and Breakfast in the picturesque town of Teignmouth with colourful gardens and plenty of parking. Once inside the character and warmth of this historic home encourages you to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Minadab Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minadab Cottage Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing