We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just positive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Bere Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Why we are so happy with this place:

- Service starts already at home, where Davids Dad called me serveral times to make sure, I got
all emails and even called me for personal travel tipps! What a great service is that?
- Location is great - close so many locations
- The room is wonderful. We stayed in Portland as we brought our Dog. Portland has a small
attached private Garden. The rooms are huge, with all equipment necessary, Coffee Tea, a
Bathroom with a bathtub and a big shower. We felt like a 5 star Hotel!
- Breakfast is wonderful, rich and everything you need

Besides all this I want to point out the incredibly friendlyness of David and his lovely family. We did not felt like simply guests, they made us feel the first second like friends welcome in their beautiful home. Also their private big garden which we were allowed to use for Errol to play. Did we needed more? No, absolutely not. All of our 4 nights were perfect. Thank you to all 3 of them for making us feel so welcome!

Make sure to visit the Royal Oak Restaurant down the Road for Dinner. Their food is excellent and Dogs are allowed too. Also I can recommend visits to Shaftesbury & Dorchester, really nice cities closeby. Go to the Jurassic Coas (Lyme Regis and Kimmeridge) for fossil hunting. But watch the tides! You can only do it by low tide.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same huge size and private bathrooms. Portland is the only one with a small, priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation and meal. It is a beautiful old mill but with the most modern furnishings. The hosts were informative and very friendly. Will definitively visit again.

Room Tip: Always read the the Trip Adviser reviews of accommodation in the areas you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for three nights, to visit the excellent nearby Tank Museum, great room, very comfortable large bed, wonderful breakfasts, lovely eggs, even got us vegetarian bacon and sausages! and very friendly service! Good off-road car parking, Wifi works well too!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Old Mill B&B for a long weekend.
Amazing rooms, really high quality and a great breakfast too :-)
David and Lorna are excellent hosts and we had a great time with them.
Good location for the coast and fossil hunting.... Our two boys had a fantastic time and we will definitely be going back.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Home made jams, honey and home laid eggs. A lovely room (Portland) and delightful hosts. The Old Mill is wonderfully restored with a private outside area to soak up this weekends glorious weather. Bere Regis is a pretty village well positioned for all that Dorset has to offer. Hope to be back soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ifzitzigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for four nights and had a really nice time, ideal location in relatively quiet Bere Regis but within easy travelling distance of so many lovely places it made the ideal base to stay and a lovely place to come back to in the evenings. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble, rooms very comfortable, and very well equipped. David and Lorna are both lovely and very friendly cooking a fantastic breakfast in the morning to start the day; would definitely return there when back in the area; can't fault it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank langers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Highly recommend The old Mill B&B, I had a bad opinion of B&Bs before I stayed here I always imagined them to be old fashioned and not places for people of my age to stay. However after finding this little treasure my opinion has altered, it is so modern and fresh all the rooms are finished to such a high standard, it is a million miles away from what my stereotype of a B&B was. Just returned from another short stay at The old Mill B&B 14th to 16th Febuary and standards were exceptional as always.
At first we were a bit unsure what to expect travelling down to Dorset with all the rain and the floods that have been in the news of late, but it was fine all the roads were clear and businesses were open as normal. Really glad we went down and wasn't put of by the weather we had a lovely weekend and cant wait to return again later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLAIRE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Old Mill West Street | West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bere Regis
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Bed and Breakfast has been recently established from the original village water mill which dates back to about 1750. Set in its own grounds and paddock of nearly 2 acres, and bounded by the Bere Stream, the Old Mill provides very comfortable yet modern en-suite accommodation in four large bedrooms. The Old Mill has a lobby, cloakroom and breakfast room on the ground floor, accessed via your own front door and four very comfortable en-suite bedrooms on the first and second floors each of which can be provided as a double or as a twin room as you prefer. Each bedroom has a restored antique brass, iron or wooden bedstead giving either a Super King sized bed or two 3 foot singles, as you prefer, by arrangement. In addition, we have 2 z beds which can be made up for a child under 12. All the bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, a built in wardrobe, a chest of drawers, flat screen TV, freeview, free WIFI and tea & coffee making facilities. All the rooms are furnished with antique and period furniture and pictures appropriate to their Dorset names. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast Dorset/Bere Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing