We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Limestone Hotel(West Lulworth)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
US$149
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
79
36
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
36
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroyal oaksteakmonkey worldfull english breakfasthunters chickengluten free foodbeer gardennot hesitate to stay here againfor sunday lunchgatwick airportall sortslovely atmospheregreat value for moneyb bon arrivaltea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited with the family on a couple of occassions whilst staying near by. There is a good selection of beers and has a varied menu. The first time we ate was for an evening meal, we had a good spread from the menu as there is six of us in total.

All the meals arrived in good time, were piping hot and were cooked to perfection, The pork loin was good as was the hunters chicken and both the vegetarian and meat lasagnia's.

The second time we visited was for a lunchtime snack and we had a further 2 members of the family in our party and we had some baguetts and some from the main menus incluing the steak. All were excellent - home cooked ham, freshing grilled chicken and all at a very reasonable price. I think i speak for all when i say i would definatly recommend.

A clean, friendly and welcoming local with plenty of outside space a very nice local pub with good food and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and myself returned from a day-trip to Weymouth and stopped of at the Royal Oak for a bite. My wife had the pork loin chop and i had the steak and both were spot on. Steak cooked perfect med rare and and the green peppercorn sauce with the chop was so nice i asked for a portion for myself. Nice food for a reasonable price. With a couple of drinks and coffee under £30.
(Only negative for me was the garden is next to a road with a bit of traffic so a bit noisy)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Marco I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stopped here this evening on our way home from a day out in Somerset. The menu was very dated with lasagne and garlic bread, gammon and chips for example. I ordered chicken breast, this was over cooked and very chewy served with a watery mushroom gravy and vegetables. The new potatoes were tasteless. My partner had lasagne and it was very salty, the garlic bread was cold and oily. The service was prompt and polite but I was disappointed that the food quality was so average and could have produced much better at home. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stopped here for a relaxing break and a meal on my way north. Situated between Dorchester and Poole, Bere Regis was apparently named royally by King John. We ordered two steaks from the menu and waited. It was a very nice atmosphere and the view was of the countryside. The place was very clean and the staff were warm and friendly.
When the meal arrived it turned out to be the nicest one of our trip. I can highly recommend coming here and can safely say you wont be disappointed. The meal was more than adequate and the bill was surprisingly small. Give it a try. I cannot rate the hotel part as we didn't stay, but it would have been very quiet I am sure.

Room Tip: Its a quiet place with good views evrywhere.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychlura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Booked in at the Royal Oak just for the locality to Monkey World in all honesty and when we return later in the year to Monkey World we will again be booking the Royal Oak :) Excellent building full of character, for a B&B I thought our room was fantastic and spacious with several windows so natural light was never a problem. The food served is beautifully fresh and portion wise you can go all day on the full English breakfast and every evening meal we had again was cooked fresh and hit the spot, from the starters, main and sweets.

A big thumbs up to all of the staff who by their genuine friendliness made us feel right at home and the local patrons who we shared a fair few stories and laughs, thank you all for helping my wife and I having a great holiday and celebrating her 30th birthday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews