We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Limestone Hotel(West Lulworth)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Lulworth House(West Lulworth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
79
36
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
36
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroyal oaksteakmonkey worldfull english breakfasthunters chickengluten free foodbeer gardennot hesitate to stay here againfor sunday lunchgatwick airportall sortslovely atmospheregreat value for moneyon arrivaltea and coffeecomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spent a few days here. The accomadation was first class - clean, spacious, well equipped, and quiet. The staff were terrific, and very friendly. The food was first class - especially the 'full English' - I particularly liked the mushrooms! The bar (this is a pub with B&B) was rather good, a nice take on a traditional village pub. No piped music to shout over, and well stocked with locals enjoying a drink - always a good sign I think.

Shortcomings? Not many....if I'm really picky, I might suggest guest allocated parking in the car park, but that is trivial.

All in all? Great value for money, a very good all round experience. Would I visit again? You bet cha!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived late afternoon and walked into a not very busy bar (there is no reception area). Several people turned to stare at us and the person behind the bar didn't acknowledge us. She proceeded to serve other customers before finally asking what we wanted - bit obvious really as we had suitcase in hand! There was no 'welcome' at all, simply shown to our room and left. We didn't try the food as it looked completely uninspiring, particularly for veggies. The room was comfortable enough (after 15 minutes spent setting up the TV and digibox) but the shower was useless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you found the staff to be "Distinctly Unfriendly" this is not a comment we have had before! I do believe it is normal practice to serve each customer in turn. You are right, we do not have a reception area but after check in you do have a key for the other front door so you do not have to come in through the bar. As for the menu I can not see how you can judge the menu from a black board when you never ate here. The shower head in the room has now been changed and I wish you had said it was not working before you left, this is a hard water area and although we descale frequently the shower heads do reach a point where they need to be replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a Lovely pub. We arrived at 7pm and had a nice meal in the garden from a menu with a lot of good choices. Very comfortable room, we wanted a double room but due to a last minute booking only a twin was available. The single beds were very comfy and a good size. Nice lot of tea and biscuits in the room. The church bells softly chiming was a nice start to the day. The breakfast service is very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. All in all a very nice over night stay to break our journey up. We will definitely be using again.

Room Tip: Wanted a double but only had a twin left however the beds are a good size.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Really pleased you had a nice stay thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Only stayed for two nights and would have liked longer. We had the large room and it was much larger and more comfortable than any of the 'highly rated' B & Bs we have stayed in over the years. It was nice to have a big comfy sofa to watch a bit of TV before turning in. Could have had a better shower - but the bath / shower was perfectly adequate and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Janette and husband (sorry forgotten name) have only been there six months and are working hard on planting in the garden and building up the place. There are three different seating areas outside and I did like the long garden where you could make the most of the evening sun.

We had dinner there one night (we both had steak) and it was good food at a very reasonable price. The English breakfast was certainly one of the best we have found when eating out - they did not have a menu but Janette will be happy to make different requests.

All in all we would definitly recommend The Royal Oak - great location for visiting Dorset and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindaanne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

We are really pleased you had a great stay and thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were en route to Portsmouth having been in, rather near Bridport in Dorset. It was lunchtime and were motoring along the A35 and getting hungry. Our first attempt to find a nice pub took us off route to Briantspuddle, a beautiful village,thatched roofs ...but no pub? How can that be? A kindly and sympathetic villager directed us to Bere Regis some 4 or 5 miles away where we found the Drax Arms. However, at 2.05pm we were told sorry the kitchen is closed. Our quest was not to be denied, we drove a further 2-300 yards to the Royal Oak and was delighted to find they serve food to 4pm on a Sunday.

I was further delighted to find they also serve Cornwall's Doombar beer amongst several others

The food was good, OK it was good enough but not great, not good enough to go out of the way to find the place solely for the food. We enjoyed our lunch, filled our stomachs and were on our way again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews