We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely outdoor areas. Good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bere Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Second visit to this pub. The meals from the board were tempting but we only wanted a light lunch. Good selection of baguettes served with side salad and a few chips. Naughty but nice. We sat in a lovely enclosed patio on a lower level; it was a real sun trap. There is another patio on a higher level and a large garden. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AMG505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Rooms were much better than I would have expected when I first arrived. Very much a locals bar, nothing wrong with that.. Breakfast was good traditional English. Not the most friendly on first arrival but turned out a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROB-2012-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spent a few days here. The accomadation was first class - clean, spacious, well equipped, and quiet. The staff were terrific, and very friendly. The food was first class - especially the 'full English' - I particularly liked the mushrooms! The bar (this is a pub with B&B) was rather good, a nice take on a traditional village pub. No piped music to shout over, and well stocked with locals enjoying a drink - always a good sign I think.

Shortcomings? Not many....if I'm really picky, I might suggest guest allocated parking in the car park, but that is trivial.

All in all? Great value for money, a very good all round experience. Would I visit again? You bet cha!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived late afternoon and walked into a not very busy bar (there is no reception area). Several people turned to stare at us and the person behind the bar didn't acknowledge us. She proceeded to serve other customers before finally asking what we wanted - bit obvious really as we had suitcase in hand! There was no 'welcome' at all, simply shown to our room and left. We didn't try the food as it looked completely uninspiring, particularly for veggies. The room was comfortable enough (after 15 minutes spent setting up the TV and digibox) but the shower was useless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you found the staff to be "Distinctly Unfriendly" this is not a comment we have had before! I do believe it is normal practice to serve each customer in turn. You are right, we do not have a reception area but after check in you do have a key for the other front door so you do not have to come in through the bar. As for the menu I can not see how you can judge the menu from a black board when you never ate here. The shower head in the room has now been changed and I wish you had said it was not working before you left, this is a hard water area and although we descale frequently the shower heads do reach a point where they need to be replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a Lovely pub. We arrived at 7pm and had a nice meal in the garden from a menu with a lot of good choices. Very comfortable room, we wanted a double room but due to a last minute booking only a twin was available. The single beds were very comfy and a good size. Nice lot of tea and biscuits in the room. The church bells softly chiming was a nice start to the day. The breakfast service is very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. All in all a very nice over night stay to break our journey up. We will definitely be using again.

Room Tip: Wanted a double but only had a twin left however the beds are a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Really pleased you had a nice stay thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Only stayed for two nights and would have liked longer. We had the large room and it was much larger and more comfortable than any of the 'highly rated' B & Bs we have stayed in over the years. It was nice to have a big comfy sofa to watch a bit of TV before turning in. Could have had a better shower - but the bath / shower was perfectly adequate and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Janette and husband (sorry forgotten name) have only been there six months and are working hard on planting in the garden and building up the place. There are three different seating areas outside and I did like the long garden where you could make the most of the evening sun.

We had dinner there one night (we both had steak) and it was good food at a very reasonable price. The English breakfast was certainly one of the best we have found when eating out - they did not have a menu but Janette will be happy to make different requests.

All in all we would definitly recommend The Royal Oak - great location for visiting Dorset and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindaanne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

We are really pleased you had a great stay and thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were en route to Portsmouth having been in, rather near Bridport in Dorset. It was lunchtime and were motoring along the A35 and getting hungry. Our first attempt to find a nice pub took us off route to Briantspuddle, a beautiful village,thatched roofs ...but no pub? How can that be? A kindly and sympathetic villager directed us to Bere Regis some 4 or 5 miles away where we found the Drax Arms. However, at 2.05pm we were told sorry the kitchen is closed. Our quest was not to be denied, we drove a further 2-300 yards to the Royal Oak and was delighted to find they serve food to 4pm on a Sunday.

I was further delighted to find they also serve Cornwall's Doombar beer amongst several others

The food was good, OK it was good enough but not great, not good enough to go out of the way to find the place solely for the food. We enjoyed our lunch, filled our stomachs and were on our way again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bere Regis
7.3 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
8.9 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
10.3 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
10.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bere Regis
Price Range: £90 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We an Old Coaching Inn with 3 fully refurbished King Size Rooms with en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Dorset/Bere Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing