We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and a good nights sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
George Albert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and a good nights sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We nearly missed this hotel - its on the main A37 between Dorchester and Yeovil. Its location being a bit austere and looks unfinished outside. Inside it was clean and stylish, the staff were excellent, and the food equally so (we had an evening meal and this was exceptional and good value - breakfast was plentiful and tasty). We had a good nights sleep as very quiet. Our disappointment with this hotel was it was pretty soulless, and the bedrooms not much different to any premier inn - we expected from the photographs something a little more stylish. Also it prides itself on luxury touches but then has plastic cups in the bathroom. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    79
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
105
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

we had a lovely 2 night b&b stay with an evening meal. It was in January for my birthday. The room & en-suite were superb with air con/ heating that you set yourself. There was an ice machine just down the corridor. The evening meal & service were better than we have received in top restaurants. However we were very disappointed with the taste & quality of the bacon at breakfast which was buffet style. Having said this we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here Tues 14 Feb, and was very pleased at the choice of hotel, All the rooms are the same good standard, and staff were also pleasant and accommodating, Evening meal which we had in the bar was also top class, just one down side, the bacon at breakfast was too touch over cooked, should have sent it back, but on the whole first class

Room Tip: No problem with noise, so all rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel several times, it is in a slightly remote place and very quiet on a night. The only downside for my husband is there is no pool, If you want comfort & elegance this is the place. We even stayed on our honeymoon in June.

The staff are lovely & the food is very good. There is ample parking also. The rooms are very clean & of a high standard.

Definately would recommend. Susan

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel the service was great fantastic polite staff. Comfortable room very clean as good as it gets. The hotel is well worth a stay it's privately run the service and food is delight

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melp485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Visited here last week for a corporate lunch. Nearly drove past the place, looks like a satellite station, but very slick interior, spacious modern and in a quiet location. Soup was a little watered down, but Salmon main course was very nice and the pineapple pavlova too.

Staff were very helpful, a good place for a gathering.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently held our daughters wedding at this hotel and it could not have been bettered.
The functions managers could not have been more helpfull and everything was organised exactly as requested. They worked so well with other people involved like the florist (The Flower Shed of Broadmayne who incidentally were wonderfull and we highly recommend) to ensure everything came together on the day.
Everything went to plan on the day thanks to the hotel staff who were friendly and helpful and worked so hard. As far as the food was concerned we chose a carvery and many many guests commented on how good it was and that it was the best they had had. We often go up for a Sunday carvery and I've not had better anywhere.
If you stop the night as we did you'll find the rooms clean, comfortable and very roomy and the breakfast was also very good (especially the sausages)
We would definately recommend this hotel for a fuunction and as a place to stop. One word about the location. The hotel is high up on the hills between Dorchester and Yeovil with lovely views to the front but is not near a town but several villages with nice pubs nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredsays169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel

Property: George Albert Hotel
Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your George Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing