We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bank Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Albert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for three nights over the bank holiday weekend.

The hotel was very nice. More than we expected especially when the price was so reasonable.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had a lovely meal.

The staff were very attentive. We almost felt out of place!

The only downside was the noise from the Shooting Range behind on the Saturday and Sunday morning (before 9am).

We would definately stay here again, but ask for a room at the front of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helmel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    77
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
39
102
10
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from spending 2 nights at the George Albert Hotel. Right from the road it's not a great sight but once you get into the hotel that changes. Lovely reception and restaurant. The room was brilliant, very spacious, bathroom was big and nice deco, shower was out of this world.

They had a wedding at the hotel but didn't hear a thing had a great night sleep. Breakfast was very tasty and a very good selection. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The only things I would do better are have the tea & coffee making facilities not in the cupboard as we never find them until the 2nd day lol, a little fridge would be handy. Also outside needs a lot of attention.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding make sure ask for a room away from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding at this hotel. The room we had was lovely, gorgeous bed and bathroom. Very warm and cosy and with the option of air-conditioning if required. The food (breakfast, wedding dinner and evening buffet was excellent. The staff were polite, helpful and very efficient. Overall, could not fault the weekend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank catrose2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Visited here for a 50th Wedding Anniversary in April. This is a really nice hotel with excellent facilities superb staff (VERY helpfull) and very clean through out. Thay also laid on the food for the party (Buffet Style) which again was superb. Couple this with very good parking facilities and an excellent night was had by all. Special mention for the bar staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definately be going back again (to stay I hope!) Top marks!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We nearly missed this hotel - its on the main A37 between Dorchester and Yeovil. Its location being a bit austere and looks unfinished outside. Inside it was clean and stylish, the staff were excellent, and the food equally so (we had an evening meal and this was exceptional and good value - breakfast was plentiful and tasty). We had a good nights sleep as very quiet. Our disappointment with this hotel was it was pretty soulless, and the bedrooms not much different to any premier inn - we expected from the photographs something a little more stylish. Also it prides itself on luxury touches but then has plastic cups in the bathroom. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

we had a lovely 2 night b&b stay with an evening meal. It was in January for my birthday. The room & en-suite were superb with air con/ heating that you set yourself. There was an ice machine just down the corridor. The evening meal & service were better than we have received in top restaurants. However we were very disappointed with the taste & quality of the bacon at breakfast which was buffet style. Having said this we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here Tues 14 Feb, and was very pleased at the choice of hotel, All the rooms are the same good standard, and staff were also pleasant and accommodating, Evening meal which we had in the bar was also top class, just one down side, the bacon at breakfast was too touch over cooked, should have sent it back, but on the whole first class

Room Tip: No problem with noise, so all rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.4 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel

Property: George Albert Hotel
Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and LateRooms so you can book your George Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing