We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George Albert Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is excellent value and a good standard with great service. It could easily be a four star hotel rather than three with just a few little touches.

A large function on the last night of my stay meant the staff even called me a few days earlier to let me know that food service may be a little slower later in the evening. The food in the restaurant was good and the hotel is ideally placed if you're working in Dorset.

If I had one criticism it would be the bathroom - not enough light around the mirror and a shaving mirror would have been nice. A little bit more attention could be paid to the cleaning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for three nights over the bank holiday weekend.

The hotel was very nice. More than we expected especially when the price was so reasonable.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had a lovely meal.

The staff were very attentive. We almost felt out of place!

The only downside was the noise from the Shooting Range behind on the Saturday and Sunday morning (before 9am).

We would definately stay here again, but ask for a room at the front of the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helmel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from spending 2 nights at the George Albert Hotel. Right from the road it's not a great sight but once you get into the hotel that changes. Lovely reception and restaurant. The room was brilliant, very spacious, bathroom was big and nice deco, shower was out of this world.

They had a wedding at the hotel but didn't hear a thing had a great night sleep. Breakfast was very tasty and a very good selection. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The only things I would do better are have the tea & coffee making facilities not in the cupboard as we never find them until the 2nd day lol, a little fridge would be handy. Also outside needs a lot of attention.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding make sure ask for a room away from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We attended a wedding at this hotel. The room we had was lovely, gorgeous bed and bathroom. Very warm and cosy and with the option of air-conditioning if required. The food (breakfast, wedding dinner and evening buffet was excellent. The staff were polite, helpful and very efficient. Overall, could not fault the weekend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank catrose2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Visited here for a 50th Wedding Anniversary in April. This is a really nice hotel with excellent facilities superb staff (VERY helpfull) and very clean through out. Thay also laid on the food for the party (Buffet Style) which again was superb. Couple this with very good parking facilities and an excellent night was had by all. Special mention for the bar staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definately be going back again (to stay I hope!) Top marks!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We nearly missed this hotel - its on the main A37 between Dorchester and Yeovil. Its location being a bit austere and looks unfinished outside. Inside it was clean and stylish, the staff were excellent, and the food equally so (we had an evening meal and this was exceptional and good value - breakfast was plentiful and tasty). We had a good nights sleep as very quiet. Our disappointment with this hotel was it was pretty soulless, and the bedrooms not much different to any premier inn - we expected from the photographs something a little more stylish. Also it prides itself on luxury touches but then has plastic cups in the bathroom. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

we had a lovely 2 night b&b stay with an evening meal. It was in January for my birthday. The room & en-suite were superb with air con/ heating that you set yourself. There was an ice machine just down the corridor. The evening meal & service were better than we have received in top restaurants. However we were very disappointed with the taste & quality of the bacon at breakfast which was buffet style. Having said this we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
953 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
909 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel and Spa

Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your George Albert Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel And Spa Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing