We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms but lacks that wow factor and fails with microwaved food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Albert Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel is verty isolated, which for us was ok, they are trying to make this a high end hotel and in many ways thay have achieved this, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and would do anything to please, the rooms are very high class and give you that wow factor, and you could not fault anything about them. There is a bar but it is in the reception area and just does not feel right and lacked atmosphere, although there were not many guests staying that night, it still felt strange, it deperately needs a seperate bar area.
We ate in the very plush resturant but unfortunately the lamb shanks we ordered arrived in a nano second and as we expected were micorowaved, but not for long enough and were still frozen in the middle!!!!, for the price paid (£12.95) you dont expect micorwave meals!!. that said the breakfast was excellent. The hotel desperately needs a pool or something extra to do as it just has something missing.
To sum up, the hotel is set up for weddings or large parties at the cost of couples or small groups when it could easily cater for both, our stay was a stop off while touring and it did what we needed, but thats all, if your looking for a romantic break and dont intend to leave your room much this this is perfect for you, but if your looking for that extra unfortunately this has not got it, if there was a pool and a seperate bar area and then they put the microwave in the bin this would get 5 stars and somewhere you would go out of your way to stay but until then ......

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darhdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gahotel, General Manager at George Albert Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2011

Dear Guest,thank you for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor. The hotel values all constuctive comments as a way to constantly monitor and improve our services.
Firstly I would like to apologise for the fact that your lamb shanks were cold in the middle. As I am sure you have read in the other comments posted, this is not our usual standard and I have personally taken steps to ensure that this unfortunate lapse is not repeated.I understand that you were not charged for your meal and we offered to provide an alternative. I do take on board your comments regarding the use of a microwave, unfortunately it is unpractical to cook a lamb shank to order as it does require about 3 hours cooking time and the use of a microwave is a fairly common practice across the industry when serving this dish. This of course does excuse the fact that the meal was not to your satisfaction.
As a newly opened hotel we are still in the infancy of attracting new guests and the night you stayed was extremely quiet compared to other weekends, which I believe led to the lack of atmosphere. We do have a separate bar area, but due to the few guests staying I took the decision to use our lounge bar area and close off the bar to try and create more of an atmosphere. In hindsight obviously that was mistake, which I can only apologise for.
The hotel indeed does have the facilities to cater for weddings and large parties in other parts of the hotel but we like to think that we look after all our customers, and that the enviroment and ambience is suitable for all. I am sorry you didn't feel that this was the case.
On a more positive note I am delighted that you found the staff friendly & welcoming, and that the rooms are decorated and maintained to an excellent standard. The staff here work very hard to achieve just that, and I have passed your comments on to them.
Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope that I can welcome you back to hotel on another occasion.
Sincerely
Alex Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 281 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

Well what a lovely stay. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady at reception, very friendly and helpful. The hotel had only been open a few months so everything was spotless. The room was spacious with a lovely super-king size bed, which was very comfortable. We would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legscrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The hotel has only recently opened and as such was very quiet, but despite there being only a few guests, there were plenty of very helpful and charming staff on hand.
The room and en suite were both spotless and the bed was very comfortable.
Dinner was excellent ( I wanted something slightly different to what was on the menu so the chef came out to suggest an alternative)
An all for a very reasonable price. I will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The hotel had been only been open a couple of months when we stayed here at the beginning of September. The room was spotlessly clean (the carpet still smelt new) and all the furnishings and fittings throughout the hotel are of the highest quality. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room equiped with table and chairs, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of clothes space, tv and hairdryer. Internet access is free, although wi-fi only available downstairs in the reception area.

The staff are among the most friendly I have come across in any hotel I have ever stayed at, at home or in europe, although some of them, particularly those serving the food, are clearly still learning their trade. The choice of food in both the restaurants is excellent and varied, and the Sunday carvery is particularly good value. The breakfast is excellent, again with a very wide choice - something for everyone.

If I wanted to be picky - the hotel details in the room state that one can order a newspaper for the next morning, yet when we did this, we were told that the service was not available. Why advertise it then? My husband ordered soup for a starter on the second night, and the soup came first - followed a good four or five minutes later by the spoon. We ordered espressos which were made, but the member of staff doing them then realised he didn't have any spoons, and had to go to the kitchen to get some. As the coffee had been poured into cold cups, by the time he got back the coffee was so cold the sugar wouldn't melt in it! These were relatively minor issues that ever so slightly let down the feeling of total luxury we enjoyed at this hotel.

We have already booked to stay here again - I just wish it was a little earlier than next June!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holyroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank momososo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan-lenz_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
383 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel and Spa

Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your George Albert Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel And Spa Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing