We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly excellent service”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly excellent service”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Summer Lodge 15th Sept 2011 for our wedding anniversary. We were made to feel at home by the reception who took the time to show us all the facilities. All the staff provided outstanding service that was friendly and not at all stuffy.The room in the Coachhouse was first rate with attached conservatory room and small terrace with loungers. Setting in the gardens was beautiful and the surrounding village quaint. The restaurant service was top notch with dietary restrictions noted by the kitchen from previously provided information. Food was excellent and it's difficult to find any deficiencies in any aspects. Certainly the best hotel we have stayed in and will return for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    83
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
127
589
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Summer Lodge for 3 nights, Sept. 9-12, 2011. We have traveled in Europe and the British Isles extensively for over 35 years and stayed at most of the Relais & Chateaux hotels in the British Isles. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We kept looking for flaws in our 3-night stay and found none.
We stayed in the Master Suite which is perfection. Sofas and comfy chairs, perfectly placed tables, a great king bed with our choice of pillows and bedding and views of all the gardens make the room. All this plus air-conditioning, tea-making equipment and 2 full bathrooms: a his with golden marble and a shower and a hers with dressing room, tub, tv, and all the works. We never wanted to leave the room...
...except to eat and drink in the lovely, relaxing lounge or nearby bar and the beautiful dining room for dinner and the conservatory for breakfast. The food is superb. The menu is extensive enough for variety in 3 nights and all my husband's dietary restrictions were unobtrusively observed. They had the best onion bread each night I have ever eaten. I still dream about it.
Finally, the staff is outstanding. We have never seen such a young staff that works together so well to instill a sense of confidence in each guest that all will be taken care of perfectly. From the reception to the bellman, from the bar waiter to the dining room staff, from the team of housekeepers to the hotel manager, all are THE best. Part of the answer is the manager who is working right along with his staff but never directing because he doesn't have to.
We are going back whenever we can plan another trip.

Room Tip: Just tell or email the staff. They know each room intimately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mntraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Summer Lodge on 10 Sep 2011 to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. I found the hotel by chance via an internet search. We had lunch on arrival, dinner and breakfast the next morning and our experience was nothing short of perfect from the beginning to the end:
The booking process is very personalised, with choice of pillows, and whether duvet or blankets are preferred. You get the option to request additions to the room such as chocolates or champagne on arrival (perfect for our celebration). They even ask if you’re over 6 feet (presumably to ensure the bed fits !)
We both used the spa which was very nice and relaxing.
The food was superb. I have stayed in many top hotels around the world on my business trips and Summer Lodge is easily up there with them.
The staff were unobtrusive, friendly and professional. They all knew us by name and made us feel at home and relaxed.
There are just too many great things to list here. The hotel is expensive but you most definitely get what you pay for.
The best thing ? The ‘anything anytime’ button on the room phone ! I think this best describes the ethos of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed in the largest room, which occupies an entire (tiny) cottage on Evershot's main street. This room is superb! But we looked at some of the main rooms, and they're good too. This is a very good high-end English countryside hotel in a lovely location. The surrounding area is excellent too, with Sherborne one of the nicest towns we've been to.

Excellent restaurant is a bonus. Public rooms are beautiful too.

My recommendation for Summer Lodge is pretty much unqualified.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Had our aniversary meal in the resturant here, one word---perfect. I will be back soon as possible!!! Great night, tthanks to all the staff who were warm and welcoming but professional.... a very hard art.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leebylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel with a fabulous restaurant and beautiful gardens. Also one of the best selections of malts I have seen and an extensive wine list. When we stayed two years ago we said how exceptional the restaurant was so it was no surprise a year later when it was picked no 27 in the UK by the Sunday Times. They ask if you have any dietary restrictions and then pay attention to them, even to the 'amuse bouche'!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed for a birthday treat at this local luxury hotel. Indulged in a cream tea, a degustation menu with wine and a relax in the pool. The room was very comfortable, service was exceptional and we will definitely be returning for more treats!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
774 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
494 reviews
21.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Property: Summer Lodge
Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing