We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow wow wow”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband, my 88 year old mum and myself,enjoyed a mid week break. We could not fault anything the staff are excellent, the rooms exceeded our expectations and the grounds and gardens wonderful. We loved it all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Judi B, thank you so much for your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see that you loved every aspect of your stay. The title of your review brought a smile to my face and it is so rewarding to know that there were some things that even exceeded your expectations. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we can welcome you back.
Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wonderful - We stayed for four nights last September (2012) and our only criteria for choosing them was that they were dog friendly and we love Dorset but we really made an excellent choice. Evershot is a little piece of heaven and Summer lodge is the perfect place from which to experience it . I loved the home-made shortbread and the fresh apricots placed in our room every day, the service was excellent and yet unobtrusive, and the breakfasts an absolute joy. The swimming pool was a bonus too - it was nice to have a quick dip before breakfast and before going out in the evening, pure luxury. We will definitely stay there again. The reason for the late review is that I wasn't using Trip advisor at the time but feel Summer Lodge is definitely worth reviewing. The cost was probably a little more than our budget could stand but so worth treating ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Jackie S, thank you so much for this very kind review of your stay at Summer Lodge. It is a joy to read about the things you enjoyed most. My team and I take great pleasure in putting them together and even greater pleasure in knowing that they are appreciated. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to Summer Lodge. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very high quality Hotel in every sense of the word. You can safely expect every comfort and great service in wonderful surroundings and we confidently predict that your expectations will be met and exceeded. Every room (we saw them all) is individually furnished to a very high level, housekeeping standards are superb and sleep comfort tops it all off. Food at every meal is outstanding and very good value with impeccable presentation and service. Personally, we think that the wine list is far too big (some 1000 wines?), pretentious and expensive (£35 to £2000 for a bottle with the lower end perhaps leaving something to be desired?) but a lot of people like such things and so we hesitate to be critical. The big plus is that Red Carnation Hotels look after and train their staff very well compared with many similar chains. As a result, by and large, their people are happy at work and enjoy providing a first class service to each and every guest and that is certainly our experience at Summer Lodge. Nothing was too much trouble, smiles were genuine and every so often little unexpected touches made us feel cared about personally and almost never patronised. In-room check in is efficient and effective, Included Wi-Fi is important to many guests and on leaving, water for your journey is a very acceptable gesture. We came to Summer Lodge after staying in the Red Carnation Oyster Box Hotel in South Africa and we do not hesitate to recommend both establishments unreservedly.

Room Tip: They are all good and you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 112MandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear 112MandH, I am thrilled to see you found Summer Lodge a quality hotel in every sense. Thank you for posting your fantastic review. We do spend a lot of pleasurable time training our staff and I am very happy to see how this affected your stay. My team and I look forward very much to welcoming you back next year. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

To anyone that wan't to be treated like a King or a Queen this is the hotel that can offer you this. It is one of my top ten hotel retreats in the whole of the UK. Its tucked away in a quiet village and it service and decor are perfect in every ways. The hotel staff are there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I loved my stay and found there was not a thing to complain about. The hotel owners have made sure that everything is catered for within you rooms. Soft furnishings and designs are fantastic. All walls are fabric lined which is amazing. I have had the opportunity to have stayed twice at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone wanting those special touches that make you feel cared for and respected. I have also had the opportunity to stay at other hotels within this group of hotels and can honestly say each one carries the same approach to service and caring for its guest. Something I can honestly say I have never experienced in any other hotel I have ever stayed in. Including top London Hotels and further a field. Keep up the excellent work and continue to be awarded such high reviews. Also keep this hotel as a retreat that provides Happiness in memories to those that have stayed at your wonderful hotel "Summer Lodge" PS Food is amazingly cooked and wines perfectly chosen if requested

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Tina T, thank you for the kind review of your stay at Summer Lodge. It is very heartwarming to read of all the aspects of your stay you enjoyed so much, in particular, the "..perfect service and decor..". Hopefully, it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to our retreat. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

check out the pillows. Ours were quite tired and non supportive. Not up to the standards you'd expect from an establishment of this calibre! Our room was No 21. The mattress (or mattresses put together) were also tired. Lower on the right side and left side of centre. Im not being nit picky as this hotel is not cheap & I'd expect perfect sleeping conditions.
That was the downside. I hope they read this review.
The upside is everything else. The staff on all levels were charming, helpful, discrete and importantly knowledgeable on everything we asked and enquired about, food, wine and most other things.
The food was excellent. The wine selection is mind blowing for a wine buff. Service excellent. Breakfast and service in the conservatory was good. Tea was very good. A nice feeling throughout the whole hotel. The gardens were beautiful, just a pity the weather wasn't great. And all this for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear DandA25, thank you for taking the time to post your review of Summer Lodge. I am sorry that you did not find the pillows and bed comfortable enough. We have made a note on your reservation so that when you next stay, we will provide you with the firmer foam pillows rather than our soft feather and down pillows. Our bed supplier, Savoir, is visiting us next week to replace the mattress. I am delighted to see how much you otherwise enjoyed your stay and look forward to perhaps welcoming you back one of these days. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hardly a hotel ,more of a warm welcoming home. We loved the decor best described as mostly French with a quirky English touch but all beautifully done . Staff are genuinely warm,helpful without going OTT . Fabulous room with a huge bed and bathroom,everything is cared for and even the tv control is in a sanitised pack !
Breakfast was excellent with a fine choice of local produce.
It was such a pity being here for just one night ,we loved it and will be back for two or three nights

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Worldtraveller1953, it was so rewarding reading the feedback in this review of your stay at Summer Lodge. Thank you so much for taking the time to post it. I am delighted to see you loved the decor that was "mostly French with a quirky English touch" and that you found the room "fabulous" and the breakfast "excellent". Like you, we look forward to a longer stay on your next visit. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had an amazing weekend in the cottages at Summer Lodge last weekend to celebrate a impending wedding. The staff from arrival to departure were fantastic. Surprise menu and wine flight were superb, as was the afternoon tea. I had a great jog around Evershot then back to gym and spa. Evening meal at The Acorn Inn was brilliant aswell. I can't recommend Summer Lodge enough for a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolatelover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Chocolatelover15, it is the greatest endorsement for us that you cannot recommend Summer Lodge enough for a relaxing weekend away. Thank you so much for this very kind review. I am so happy to read about all the things you enjoyed and delighted to know that you enjoyed your dinner at The Acorn too. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
515 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: £210 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing