We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our return to Summer Lodge was much anticipated and proved to be as wonderful as our previous visits. A great balance between old style relaxation and service with modern convenience (wi-fi, spa etc). The staff are great, food excellent and the gardens are lovely to view enven just from the safe haven of the hotel building.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Alan H, I am relieved to see that your return visit to Summer Lodge was "as wonderful" as your previous visits. It is so rewarding to know you found us a good balance between old style relaxation and the modern conveniences and that you found the staff great, the food excellent and the gardens lovely. We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back on yet another visit. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    77
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
124
557
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We returned to the Summer Lodge last weekend for a small business meeting to find it as excellent as ever. The discreet service (you never see the housekeepers) and the very friendly staff make this one of the best country house hotel experiences in the UK.

There were 2 highlights on this visit. On the first night in the restaurant we were served local cheese (this hotel has the best trolley selection anywhere) by a young Frenchman who was brilliant with repartee - just like a cabaret - even though English is obviously not his first language. On the second night Eric, the head Sommelier, suggested the most spectacular Chardonnay I have ever tried from Kistler Vineyards. Just incredible.

As in other reviews, you might think that this eulogy is a bit over the top. If you believe this then visit the Summer Lodge and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybarite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Sybarite3, thank you so much for your glowing review of a stay at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your highlights - the wonderful cheese trolley and the Chardonnay recommended by Eric. I hope that it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back on another visit - a leisure trip this time, perhaps? Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a short winter break at Summer Lodge earlier this week - my wife, myself, my son and his wife. We chose it because of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor so our expectations were very high - we were not disappointed ! It was perfect. The overall ambiance of tranquility meant we could just relax, totally stress-free. The staff were excellent and looked after us really well but without being too pushy. Beautiful log-fires in the drawing room and lounge; in the restaurant, excellent food all round: afternoon tea, dinner, breakfast, everything was spot-on. The rooms were quiet, comfortable and cosy. It felt like we were valued guests at someone's country house. A big thank you to the whole team, very well done !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teevee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear teevee1, I am relieved to see that we lived up your expectations and so delighted to see "it felt like we were valued guests at someone's country house." This is music to our ears, since we strive always to maintain the atmosphere of a country house in everything we do. We hope we will have the pleasure welcoming you and your family back soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at the peaceful Summer Lodge. As with previous visits it was both relaxing and restorative. The staff are attentive, without being overbearing, and the young staff are a credit to the Hotel and themselves. We were fortunate to dine in the Acorn Inn, the food is first rate and the welcome friendly. We really did have a lovely evening there.
I had a wonderful massage, courtesy of Katie, who managed to unravel some of the knots in my shoulders, from too many hours on court reports !
So in summary a peaceful and spoilt weekend, over too quickly but already hoping to return soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicklow100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Wicklow100, thank you so much for this lovely review of your stay at Summer Lodge. We are always thrilled when guests acknowledge the peace of our hotel and the part of the world it is in. That you also enjoyed the staff as well as your evening over at The Acorn, makes us even happier. Like you, we hope your next visit is soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have just returned for a two day spa break at Summer Lodge. What a wonderful treat! The staff are superb and the care and attention to detail is perfect. I always sleep like a log here. The treatments at the spa were excellent. I cannot fault the service offered at Summer Lodge. Even when something went a little awry, it was swiftly put right with little problem. Gracious living at its best.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Sally R, to see that you sleep like a log is proably one of the best compliments you could give us, since we put so much effort into ensuring you have a very good night's sleep. Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed the spa, the service and the staff and hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My fiancé and I went to the Summer Lodge in September 2012, so this review has been a long time coming! All these months later, however, I am still compelled to write how fabulous an establishment this is.

I have genuinely never been so impressed by the standard of service in any hotel I have stayed in around the world. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Attentive yet unobtrusive, nothing is too much hassle.

The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are exquisite, and the food is delicious. Whilst not the cheapest of places to visit, you certainly get value for your money when compared to other luxury properties.The charming village of Evershot is a perfect location in which to rest and unwind.

I will be making a return to the Summer Lodge a priority for 2014!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Meredith A, I am absolutely delighted to see how impressed you were with the standard of service at Summer Lodge. Thank you so much for your very kind review. Since you have visited us in Autumn, you might like to try visiting us in Spring, since it is the most magical time of the year in the countryside. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My mum and I stayed at the summer lodge hotel and spa this weekend and I can honestly say that we had an amazing time here! The staff at the spa and hotel went extra miles to ensure all our needs we're met! we felt very special and that each and everyone of the staff loved there job and loved to make us happy! The spa was perfect we spent most of our days there and Rosemary the spa director is an exceptional lady who has a heart of gold, we can not fault this hotel at all we would defiantly recommend that you take a visit here! We certainly were made to feel in paradise!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Vicky R, thank you so much for this very kind review of a stay with your Mother at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your visit. Rosemary does indeed have a heart of gold and she is absolutely delighted to see her name up in lights. Being situated very close to the hotel, we hope you will visit us again and again. Sincerely, Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
21.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Property: Summer Lodge
Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing