We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cottage attached to the hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage attached to the hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in Ivy Cottage with our dog for 3 nights. The cottage was perfect as was the hot tub which is undercover in the garden
All meals we had were superb and staff were very attentive.
On the Friday night we are at the Acorn pub, also owned by the hotel & the food & service couldn't be faulted
We had the sampler menu on Saturday night & it was perfect., including the wines between courses.
We had treatments in the Spa on Saturday & Kora, our therapist was very professional & well informed. It was enjoyable having lunch in the conservatory area
We look forward to coming back very soon

Room Tip: Ivy cottage was on the street but you couldn't here any noise. Lovely private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieB_Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear SusieB_Wiltshire, thank you so much for your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay in Ivy Cottage. Kora at the spa is thrilled to be mentioned by name, as is the rest of the team to see how their respective efforts have been acknowleged and appreciated. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    75
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
123
549
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Have just spent the night at Summer Lodge. This was a special occasion celebrating my birthday and my friends anniversary. We were given a beautiful room (number 10) on the first floor with views overlooking the gardens and car park. Following a relaxing afternoon in the pool and spa we spent a lively but relaxing evening dining in the well appointed restaurant. The staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. The food and wine delicious. However after retiring at a very late hour we had a dreadful night due to the faulty overflow in the loo. Once flushed it refilled and stopped, then seconds later it started pouring water constantly into the toilet bowl, nothing would stop it. Due to the late hour we felt there probably wasn't anyone to report it to, reception didn't seem to be manned when we went upstairs to bed so we reported it in the morning. The member of staff apologised and said he would have it looked at. No offer of a discount to make up for the inconvenience of a sleepless night. The loo was still merrily and noisily tinkling when we left. What a shame that a special night was spoilt by defective plumbing. We will return at some point but will be sure to flush the loo as soon as we're shown our room just to ensure that we don't have "Handles Water Music" all night long again.

Room Tip: Flush the loo as soon as you're in the room and check that the overflow valve cuts off or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Smartlady2014, thank you for this review of your stay at Summer Lodge. I am so sorry to see that a running cistern kept you awake and spoilt an otherwise enjoyable stay. The problem was easily and quickly rectified once brought to our attention. We are required by law to have someone on duty around the clock, so you would have found a member of staff able to assist you. Further training has been given to the receptionist who checked you out so that he is better able to deal with this sort of feedback in future. You and I have subsequently discussed plans for a return visit and I look forward to making it up to you then. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Simply superb. What was? Everything. Our Valentine weekend break (also our anniversary) was an adventure. First a power cut, but the care and expedience shown was stunning. Well done Salvatore. We were moved into a suite with a courtyard so Romeo (Pomeranian) was happy, then we were offered a separate room for our daughter. (She was in heaven.) But the chef here is the magician. Everything, but try the tasting menu. Stunning, followed by truffled brie. No words. And we were introduced to a chardonnay from the house vineyard in South Africa, limited edition but first class. Persuaded the Sommelier to sell us a case. Summer Lodge is a golden nugget in Dorset. Lovely staff, good taste throughout, a spa to relax the spirit, always quiet quality. And this was February. Imagine Spring and Summer. We were enchanted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear ChrisrOse, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you and your family enjoyed your stay and in particular, the food and wine. Steven, our wonderful Chef is thrilled to be called a magician! Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back to Summer Lodge because as you imagined, it is utterly beautiful in Spring and in Summer, it lives up to its name. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had lunch here as part of my birthday celebration. When booked my husband said that they were hyper about getting there on time as they were full. As it happens we were the only table eating for at least 30 mins then the whole restaurant had only 3 tables!! Food good, service excellent - not sure would make the effort to drive all that way out again as there are restaurants closer that are as good. Would be great if you were staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear YellowJellyBean, thank you very much for this wonderful review of your lunch at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see you found "the food good and the service excellent".
Mr YellowJellyBean has to be a fine man if he is punctual - an admirable quality!
Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was our fourth visit, and we've never been disappointed. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, and the whole team really looks after you. As we are foodies, that's the main attraction, complemented by Eric, the sommelier, who never fails to find new and interesting wines to introduce to us. This time, we tried the "Surprise" menu, where you don't know what will be served until it arrives, and a selection of different wines is selected by Eric to go with different courses. It was spectacular! on top of the food, we love the comfort of the rooms, the quiet elegance of the setting and the spa facility, all of which went to make a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank middx_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear midd_xtraveller2014, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge. My team and I are so happy to see that you found us "spectacular". Eric is particulary delighted to be mentioned by name and very encouraged at the acknowledgement of his skills in introducing new and interesting wines. It was wonderful to see how many other aspects of the stay you enjoyed as well. We hope we will be able to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Charles and the team at Summer Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you are looking for a rather special place to have a splendid lunch then head for the Summer Lodge at Evershot. The food and service are excellent. It is lovely to sit by the log fire in the drawing room whilst you choose your dishes. The room was designed by a young local architect who became a giant of English literature, Thomas Hardy. Our lunch was beautifully cooked as was the service. The drive to Evershot, from any direction, takes you through stunning countryside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear RLB187, we loved your recommendation of us as "a rather special place to have a splendid lunch". That you found the food well cooked and the service excellent, is very encouraging. Hopefully, it will not be too long before you visit us again. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

so many staff, so few guests...you felt watched
The reception on arrival was weird...they confused Atkinson with Hawkins (language barrier for French speaker) and said there was a problem. There wasn't. However, our departure was slowed 2 days later, as the staff were unable to enter on the computer and deduct the amount of our vouchers. Further check-in was delayed as they insisted on showing us 2 rooms they wanted us to take, more expensive of course, though not in my view superior to the one we had booked and were eventually shown. The bath was not separate from the shower, and was not easy to get in to.
They asked for feedback. We gave it. It is easy to put these hiccoughs right.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Brenda A, thank you for giving us some feedback on your stay. I am very sorry that we got your name wrong on arrival, that we showed you some other rooms we thought you might be interested in taking and that we took longer than expected to check you out. All of these matters have of course been taken up with my team and we have done some further training and put measures in place to prevent them from happening again. We have made a note on your reservation so that when you next stay with us, we will know to allocate a room with a walk-in shower. I am happy to see that by giving us a score of four out of five, you otherwise enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
21.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Property: Summer Lodge
Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing