We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summer Lodge
Nearby Hotels
George Albert Hotel and Spa(Evershot)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acorn Inn(Evershot)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Helyar Arms(East Coker)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bridge House Hotel(Beaminster)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanes Hotel(West Coker)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveller rating
855
99
23
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
99
23
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teadrawing roomturn down servicecountry housedeer parkthe main housecoach househomemade shortbreadtasting menuivy cottagecheese boardbeautiful dorset countrysideamuse bouchehotel is beautifulevery member of staffthe general managerthe cottages
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 993 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I have just stayed at Summer Lodge to celebrate his birthday. From first to last everything was superb. The customer service was outstanding. Nothing was too difficult for the staff and we were treated with warmth, professionalism and attention. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and extremely comfortable with exquisite decor. We highly recommend Summer Lodge.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Sarah H, I am so happy to see how much you enjoyed your stay at Summer Lodge and very grateful for the time you have taken to post this review. The greatest endorsement we can receive from anyone is that they would recommend us and we are therefore delighted that this is the case with you. We look forward to perhaps one day welcoming you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in Ivy Cottage with our dog for 3 nights. The cottage was perfect as was the hot tub which is undercover in the garden
All meals we had were superb and staff were very attentive.
On the Friday night we are at the Acorn pub, also owned by the hotel & the food & service couldn't be faulted
We had the sampler menu on Saturday night & it was perfect., including the wines between courses.
We had treatments in the Spa on Saturday & Kora, our therapist was very professional & well informed. It was enjoyable having lunch in the conservatory area
We look forward to coming back very soon

Room Tip: Ivy cottage was on the street but you couldn't here any noise. Lovely private garden
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieB_Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear SusieB_Wiltshire, thank you so much for your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay in Ivy Cottage. Kora at the spa is thrilled to be mentioned by name, as is the rest of the team to see how their respective efforts have been acknowleged and appreciated. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Have just spent the night at Summer Lodge. This was a special occasion celebrating my birthday and my friends anniversary. We were given a beautiful room (number 10) on the first floor with views overlooking the gardens and car park. Following a relaxing afternoon in the pool and spa we spent a lively but relaxing evening dining in the well appointed restaurant. The staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. The food and wine delicious. However after retiring at a very late hour we had a dreadful night due to the faulty overflow in the loo. Once flushed it refilled and stopped, then seconds later it started pouring water constantly into the toilet bowl, nothing would stop it. Due to the late hour we felt there probably wasn't anyone to report it to, reception didn't seem to be manned when we went upstairs to bed so we reported it in the morning. The member of staff apologised and said he would have it looked at. No offer of a discount to make up for the inconvenience of a sleepless night. The loo was still merrily and noisily tinkling when we left. What a shame that a special night was spoilt by defective plumbing. We will return at some point but will be sure to flush the loo as soon as we're shown our room just to ensure that we don't have "Handles Water Music" all night long again.

Room Tip: Flush the loo as soon as you're in the room and check that the overflow valve cuts off or you'll experience a sleepless night!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smartlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Smartlady2014, thank you for this review of your stay at Summer Lodge. I am so sorry to see that a running cistern kept you awake and spoilt an otherwise enjoyable stay. The problem was easily and quickly rectified once brought to our attention. We are required by law to have someone on duty around the clock, so you would have found a member of staff able to assist you. Further training has been given to the receptionist who checked you out so that he is better able to deal with this sort of feedback in future. You and I have subsequently discussed plans for a return visit and I look forward to making it up to you then. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Simply superb. What was? Everything. Our Valentine weekend break (also our anniversary) was an adventure. First a power cut, but the care and expedience shown was stunning. Well done Salvatore. We were moved into a suite with a courtyard so Romeo (Pomeranian) was happy, then we were offered a separate room for our daughter. (She was in heaven.) But the chef here is the magician. Everything, but try the tasting menu. Stunning, followed by truffled brie. No words. And we were introduced to a chardonnay from the house vineyard in South Africa, limited edition but first class. Persuaded the Sommelier to sell us a case. Summer Lodge is a golden nugget in Dorset. Lovely staff, good taste throughout, a spa to relax the spirit, always quiet quality. And this was February. Imagine Spring and Summer. We were enchanted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear ChrisrOse, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you and your family enjoyed your stay and in particular, the food and wine. Steven, our wonderful Chef is thrilled to be called a magician! Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back to Summer Lodge because as you imagined, it is utterly beautiful in Spring and in Summer, it lives up to its name. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had lunch here as part of my birthday celebration. When booked my husband said that they were hyper about getting there on time as they were full. As it happens we were the only table eating for at least 30 mins then the whole restaurant had only 3 tables!! Food good, service excellent - not sure would make the effort to drive all that way out again as there are restaurants closer that are as good. Would be great if you were staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear YellowJellyBean, thank you very much for this wonderful review of your lunch at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see you found "the food good and the service excellent".
Mr YellowJellyBean has to be a fine man if he is punctual - an admirable quality!
Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews